Crashes related to epfw.sys

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by KQ42, Sep 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KQ42

    KQ42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I've been getting Blue Screens with the message "Driver IRQL not less or equal" every few days lately. The minidumps say that the cause is epfw.sys. I am using an Asus X71SL laptop with Vista Home Premium, with all the latest updates from Asus and Microsoft, and uninstalling/reinstalling ESS didn't fix problem. I've also been seeing regularly spikes in DPC Latency, from 2-3ms up to 70+ms, which I imagine are related to the problem.

    Here's the minidump information from the crash I had today, taken from BlueScreenView:

    Bug Check String: DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
    Bug Check Code: 0x000000d1
    Parameter 1: 0x00000000
    Parameter 2: 0x00000002
    Parameter 3: 0x00000001
    Parameter 4: 0x952c3fda
    Caused by Driver: epfw.sys
    Cause by Address: epfw.sys+805e

    And this is the information from a previous crash - the rest had similar info to this one (all caused by address epfw.sys+7970)

    Bug Check String: DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
    Bug Check Code: 0x000000d1
    Parameter 1: 0x00000000
    Parameter 2: 0x00000002
    Parameter 3: 0x00000001
    Parameter 4: 0x87469fda
    Caused by Driver: epfw.sys
    Cause by Address: epfw.sys+7970
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    1, do you have a Novell Netware client installed?
    2, do you have the latest version of ESS installed? (4.0.674) If so, does enabling "Test mode" in the update setup, running an update and restarting the computer make a difference?

    Should the problem persist, we'll need:
    1, a complete memory dump created when BSOD occurs
    2, a log from SysInspector
     
  3. KQ42

    KQ42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    1) No, I don't have one.
    2) I have v.4.0.467.0 - was 4.0.674 a mistype? I can't seem to find it anywhere on the site (if not, where can I get it).
    I checked the update options in the Advanced Setup tab, I couldn't see any "Test Mode" option (I have enabled the pre-release updates, I don't know whether it's the same thing).
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Sorry, I meant 4.0.467 which is the last build. To activate test mode (prerelease updates), open the main setup by pressing F5, navigate to Update, click on Setup and tick the appropriate checkbox in the Prerelease updates section (formerly known as test mode).
     
  5. KQ42

    KQ42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Enabling the pre-release updates seems to have fixed the problem, I haven't had any problems since I did that.

    Thank you for your help.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.