craigslist question

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by wutsup, Aug 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    hey wilders, i have a question about craigslist.org

    i remember when i use to go to craigstlist it would just go to the homepage. but now when i just type in craigslist.org it goes to my nearest city on craigslist. even if i clean the cookies. did they recently change something so it already knows which city you live in? cause before you had to select which cityo n the home page of craigslist.

    your thoughts please.
    -wutsup
     
  2. hierophant

    hierophant Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Posts:
    854
    It's probably based on IP lookup, plus WiFi-router MAC lookup, if available.

    There are various ways to change your apparent IP address, by using proxies, Tor and/or anonymous VPNs. You can disable WiFi-router MAC lookup in Firefox, and perhaps in other browsers. All that has been throughly discussed on Wilders.
     
  3. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    could you test it out? go to www.craigslist.org and tell me if it goes to the main homepage or if it autommatically redirects you to your nearest city?
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes, it does. Several sites do this such as Google.

    It's probably based on your ip address.
     
  5. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    yes it does to which on? main homepage or redirects to your nearest city?
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    Correct.
     
  7. hierophant

    hierophant Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Posts:
    854
    I just discovered something interesting. XeroBank claims that craigslist doesn't exist. Perhaps there have been too many complaints?
     
  8. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    I just tried it too and got the same. Weird.
     
  9. LockBox

    LockBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,275
    Location:
    Here, There and Everywhere
    What does it tell you? Error message? I can't imagine a VPN actually blocking a major site.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.