CPU Heat Pipes...

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by puff-m-d, Jul 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,450
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    I am looking on installing a heat pipe cooling system on my CPU and get rid of the stock cooling. I was wondering if anyone out there has any experiences in this area and if you have any good recommendations. I would like to get maximum cooling for the buck as funds are kind of tight here at the moment, but any and all suggestions are welcome to help me research before I buy... I have a P4 3 GH HT on an Intel D875PBZ MB...
     
  2. hadi

    hadi Guest

    Is it heat or noise you are departing from. even pipe cooling uses FANS.
    http://www.xoxide.com/cooler-master-hyper-48.html

    how hot is your CPU .
    here is mine P4 HT 3.2GHz (idle temps)
     

    Attached Files:

  3. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,450
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    I realize pipe cooling uses fans, it is the heat that I want to get away from.

    At idle around 40 C. I am involved with distibuted computing, specifically folding at home, which keeps my CPU working. My temps with the distibuted computing going and my normal apps, surfing, etc. raises to around 55 C. I would like to see it running cooler...
     
  4. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    Are you involved with the protein folding project?

    The Distributed Computing forum has a discussion board on cooling - might get some specific answers there:

    http://forums.anandtech.com/categories.aspx?catid=37&flcache=1561657&entercat=y

    Tom's has a review of different coolers:

    http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/20050607/

    and specifically the Thermaltake PIPE101 3 in 1 CPU Cooler for $35 :)

    http://stores.tomshardware.com/search_attrib.php?page_id=363&form_keyword=heat pipe&rd=1

    BTW - MAc users have the same problem :cool:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/archive/index.php/t-6318.html

    regards,

    -rich
    ________________
    ~~Be ALERT!!! ~~
     
  5. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    I would just invest in a case with front/rear 80mm fans and let it be. I have a P4 3.0 @ 3.6 with HT and it hits about 50 under a heavy constant load oc'd @ 20%. 2 80mm in the front intake air and 2 in the rear blowing out keeps it nice and chilly inside even in the summer. Fan that came in the cpu box still on it. :D
     
  6. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,450
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Thanks for everyone for their posts. I really appreciate your help.

    After taking everything into consideration, I decided not to get a new CPU heatsink with heat pipes for the time being. I took my system down to bare bones and gave it a thorough cleaning. I removed the old thermal compound from my heat sink (looks like originally it was applied way too thick), and replaced it with Artic Silver Ceramique. I only had 1 80mm fan plus the PSU fan, so I added 3 more 80mm fans. Total spent $35.

    My idle temps are the same, but my normal load temps are now 40 to 43 C. I can load the CPU to about 80 % and temps do not go over 46 C.

    I like what I was able to accomplish for the small investment and will see how this works over the next few days...
     
  7. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
  8. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,450
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    I boosted up the priority a bit where folding@home uses about 50% CPU instead of the 25%. Temps stay about 46 to 47 C. I have loaded the CPU to 100% for about 15 minutes and the temp never goes over 49 C. I am happy with the results I have attained so far and it does not look like I will need any special cooling other then the cleaning, new thermal paste, and extra case fans that I installed.

    Thanks all for the info ;) ...
     
  9. hadi

    hadi Guest

    Hi puff-m-d
    The trouble is that we pay a quite amount of money for processor speed, The manufacturers show us all the fancies like "silent fan" which is physically does not exist, speed 3.4 or 3.6 and 3.8GHz again physically unreachable. See the pic below
    my processor speed suppose to be 3.2GHz. it shows almost when idle
    http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/7932/cp16ds.jpg

    But just watch what happen when processor temp goes up to 44C see the digits on systaray and see the pic now the new speed is 1.7GHz. uhhhhhhh 3.2GHz what a joke. I made a mistake when I ditched my 2.6GHz HT, was 1000€ cheaper by then and showed always the correct speed even when it was 60C hot.
    http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/7354/cp27no.jpg
     
  10. hadi

    hadi Guest

    My advice for new buyers NOT TO PAY EXTRA MONEY for 3.00GHz processors and above. have tested about 10 different machines and none of them show correct or nearly correct CPU clock when working. BUT those with 2.8GHz and below did.
     
  11. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    That does not make any sense. CPU does not slow with temperature - unless you have some sort of software that reduces it's cycles when temperature rises - on second though no. That Starter app seems faulty. Verify it with Explorer/properties or a known CPU meter like http://www.cpuid.org/cpuz.php - or something
     
  12. hadi

    hadi Guest

    Hi lynchknot
    Its a frequency adjustment. all Pentium processors above 3.00GHz have such feature (reduce speed when temp reaches 60C but mine is crazy). here is a pic "quote" from siemens manual: I can't find the related links now its an old story.
    http://img183.imageshack.us/img183/1299/hy1rt.jpg
     
  13. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    hmmm. Never heard of it. That sucks in your case. No way of turning it off and just have a shutdown if too hot? The only time my computer got too hot was when my CPU fan broke - no amount of throttling is going to work in that situation - I think.
     
  14. hadi

    hadi Guest

    It depends on the speed. My old P4 2.6GHz never went above 25/27C with one fan only. by nature 3.00GHz and above they are bound to heat and drop in speed. I tested mine by holding its cooling fan a year ago it went down to 200Hz (not MHz). the company told me it is normal for pentium to reduce speed and saves its "own life". others like AMD would just burn ( a year ago I had a 2 min video showing that pentium survived (by reducing its speed)without a fan while AMD burned out. if I find it I'll upload it here)
     
  15. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    I don't know about all AMDs but mine won't "burn up" the computer shuts down and sends a warning alarm.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Infected
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    577
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.