Couple of quick questions

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by ht7890, Sep 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ht7890

    ht7890 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    scenario:

    1. Program (A) calls home using TCP 1234
    2. Program (B) uses TCP 1230-1240 to function correctly.

    Question: How can I stop program (A) from using TCP 1234 when it needs to be unblocked to allow program (B) to work?

    Do I need to bind a specific program to ports? (please excuse my thickness!)


    Next Question:

    Am I right is assuming that the sharing.ire ruleset is just for allowing computers on a Local Area Network to share a printer, NOT over the internet?

    Is this also OK for sharing folders between two computers on a LAN or do I need to open more ports?

    The problem I have trying to get my head around this firewall is because others such as Zonealarm etc. have a trusted LAN zone used for internal file and printer sharing. It seems that every rule has to be written in LnS.

    Hope all that makes sense
    Thanks fior your time
    ht7890
     
  2. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,
    If Program (A) doesn't need another port, simply block it globally in the application filtering.

    For Program (B), you need to allow it in the application filtering.
    Then edit the rule (the edit button is available only if you activate the advanced mode in the advanced options), and specify the port range for this application.

    Yes, assuming you let the IP range as 192.168.x.y

    No other port rule is required. This import ruleset was created for this purpose.

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  3. ht7890

    ht7890 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks Frederic

    I tried the LAN settings with printer & file sharing and they work very well, excellent in fact. :D

    The first question I will have to work on as I don't qiute follow you. If I block TCP 1234 globally as you suggest will this not also block program(B) from using this port.

    Please excuse my ignorance as I am still trying to come to terms with this firewall. I have not come across the advanced mode in advanced options, guess I need to go and play some more :)

    regards
     
  4. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    No, actually what I suggested in not to block port 1234 (I suppose in the Internet filtering) but to block globally Program (A) to access internet (this is in the Application filtering).

    Frederic
     
  5. ht7890

    ht7890 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    AH! Ok I see where you are coming from here, but if program (A) needs internet access how can I stop program (A) from using certain ports?

    Can I set rules for specific programs (Application Filtering) rather than global settings (Internet Filtering) like I could in Outpost.

    regards
    ht7890
     
  6. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    In the application filtering, using the Edit button or double-clicking on the application (Advanced mode only).

    Yes, the same as above.

    Frederic
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.