couple of problems xbbrowser and JanusVM

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by kiwi2000, May 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kiwi2000

    kiwi2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Hi

    I tried installing xbbrowser both normal xp pc and vmware 6.5
    and it refuses to run on both

    basically it starts after waiting on Tor but cant find the home page
    on checking the options and network settings
    its got manual ticked but blank field for where ip goes
    ( I would of assumed its meant to be 127.0.0.1)

    and the port 0.. not 9050 or 8118..
    I tried manaully adding but wont work.. since tor is socks anyhow
    so what should the http be?

    I see a plugin on addons but options is dimmed.. so guess can check there

    also the xb config.exe found in install folder most things are blank there maybe they shouldnt be

    ive only downloaded yesterday so latest version of 6/6/9
     
  2. SteveTX

    SteveTX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,641
    Location:
    TX
    Sounds like it is running just fine. Settings are correct, firefox does not display them correctly. Once the browser window opens, hit refresh. Sounds like you're dealing with the general symptoms of the Tor network.
     
  3. kiwi2000

    kiwi2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    OK TA.. i DID RETRY and even other sites to no response

    then I left it a wee while and clicked refresh and it worked

    so maybe tor hadnt found a circuit before browser started.. didnt
    see a icon or status on this browser to say if tor was connected.


    maybe I need to tick that option to wait for tor circuit perhaps in the
    xbconfig?

    it is slow though

    JUST WONDERING does tor rotate ips? I dont see a option to say stay with a IP until I choose new identity.. as Im sure some sites drop connection if ip changes
    while using it like chats..
     
  4. kiwi2000

    kiwi2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    doesnt seem to work icq (web version).. refuses to connect

    http://chat.icq.com/icqchat/chatroom.php?c_id=1197

    however latest shockwave wont work with it too so tried ver 7 flash to
    double check

    so it seems some sites can block it

    ==
    update.. it did connect in the end with ver 7 shockwave flash.. however it uses the ip of ISP
    not from tor.. so again its limited it what it can make annonymous.. flash seems to be one issue for leaks
    or by passing how it gets IP info

    perhaps you can verify this yourself
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2009
  5. kiwi2000

    kiwi2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    nope ticking wait for circuit just ended up in a loop connecting to tor..(flashing/blinking) and in process tor.exe kept starting and
    closing

    in end I end task it

    delete ini and restarted to get back to loading browser atleast
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.