CounterSpy 1.5.82 high memory usage

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by candoo, Nov 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. candoo

    candoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    Has anyone had problems with CS 1.5.82 using alot of RAM? My usage is,

    Sunthreat Engine 144,272k
    Sun Protection 9000k
    Sunserver 5864k

    Regards
    Candoo
     
  2. disinter1

    disinter1 Guest

    Yes, counterspy is famous for extremely insane high ram/resource usage.
     
  3. Old Monk

    Old Monk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Hi

    Yep - me too.

    Yesterday - threat engine using 64,000k but strangely today as low as 9000k.
     
  4. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Yep.
    This is a known issue.
    Sunbelt Software is currently working on a beta (CounterSpy 2.0) which is much lighter on resource usage.
     
  5. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I have used the CS beta 2.0, and it is much lighter, and in fact about what other relatively light applicaions are. It is about like SuperAntiSpyware which I have on the same computer. I do not know how they made such an improvement.

    I subsequently removed CS, but not for any particular reason than I already have SAS, and AT, and did not need another AS application.

    I think folks will like the V2.0 when it is on the market. I would prefer it to most others including Spysweeper and Spyware Doctor.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  6. candoo

    candoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    15
    I to had to uninstall CS too. It was getting out of hand. Sometimes memory usage was as hi as 187,000k. My Zone Alarm Suite 6.5 and SpySweeper 5.2 use 85,000k COMBINED! I guess you have to have PC's with at least 1 gig of ram to work with this kind of software. I least now I know I am not the only one with this problem. We will see how CS 2.0 works out.

    Regards
    Candoo
     
  7. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    RAM usage of 1.5.82 is high but CPU usage is not high, so I don't have slow down when using 1.5.82.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.