Could you please make Rescue CD any more counterintuitive?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by GrammatonCleric, Mar 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    So I installed that freaking enormous 1 Gig file required for SysRescue CD.

    Now I point to the root folder of AIK and I get this nice message.
    What gives?
    Should I download the 1gb file again or maybe I should upload it to Eset for analysis?
    Honestly, first of all, you have to download this monstrosity and then it doesn't work.
    THANKS!!!!!

    Sorry am a bit pissed if you can't tell.


    P.S.
    So I guess if you want NOD32 to have all the features then you need 1+ GB of HD space. :)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 23, 2009
  2. trencan

    trencan Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    120
    Try to run SysRescue wizard again. It should detect AIK automatically.
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    To my best knowledge, Microsoft has claimed that the next version of AIK will be smaller. AIK is the only 100% legal solution not only temporarily tolerated but also fully supported by Microsoft.

    As for the error, what version of AIK do you have installed?
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2009
  4. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    6.0.6000.16386
     
  5. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    I think you need to reboot.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Couldn't it be that you have v4 beta or RC installed? In such case, you'd get an error that AIK was not found if an older version is installed. The release version should tell you that a newer version of AIK is required and also provide you with a direct link to the MS website where you can download it.
     
  7. trencan

    trencan Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    120
  8. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    Yeap 6.0.6001.18000 download fixed the issue, somehow I have followed to the download I got initially, I didn't think about MS hosting an older one that's readily available without going through hoops.

    I have the latest V4 EAV.
     
  9. trencan

    trencan Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    120
    That's strange. I did test it with AIK 6.0.6000.16386 and with latest EAV 4.0.314 and SysRescue Wizard informed me that AIK is old one. It was 2nd page of Wizard. There is written, that you need to install AIK build at least 6001.
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.