Could Prevx be Causing BSODs?

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by Brandonn2010, Apr 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    This may be long.

    Since very late March I have had 3 BSODs. The first time I thought nothing of it, since I had had 2 or 3 before, all so sporadic I ignored it. Then early April I had another. I tested my hard drive and it was fine, and I tested my RAM, and found one or two bad sticks. I removed them and things seemed fine. Then a couple days ago I got another one. This time I used a program called BlueScreenView and it highlighted Ntoskrnl.exe in red, so that is probably the offending file. I unfortunately have been deleting all my minidumps with CCleaner, but I have disabled that now.

    The reason I ask if Prevx could be causing them is because I have installed that, ZoneAlarm, Firefox 4, and the Iron browser since right before April, and the last 3 BSODs were all when browsing online. So is it Prevx, or Firefox, or could it still be hardware?
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It's hard to say without seeing further details - if you do have another one, feel free to send the minidump to report@prevxresearch.com and I'll take a look :)
     
  3. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    Will do. Also, has there been any reports of conflicts with Avast! 6? Should I add any exclusions for Avast!?
     
  4. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Ive had recent blue screens at home too. Was wondering if it was Prevx or the new version of Firefox.
     
  5. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i tested the new Firefox for 2 weeks without a problems.

    whenever (rarely) i get blue screens the culprit is always security softwares...
     
  6. monkeybutt

    monkeybutt Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    126

    With SD being one of those culprits :p every once in a while. Still like it better than RL.
     
  7. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
  8. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    I think it may have been Firefox 4, since all 3 times I was on FF, and the 3rd time I had already removed my bad RAM. One of my friends had lots of crashes because of plugins for FF not being ready for FF 4 yet.

    As a side note, I was removing non plug-and-play drivers from previous security programs, and one of those drivers not being used right now is called "oowqmo". I can't find ANYTHING about it on Google.
     
  9. NiteSurfer

    NiteSurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    I did add exclusions to Avast because both Avast and Prevx have the behavior shields and I wanted to avoid potential conflicts. I added the exclusions to both software.

    I have had an occasional crash with FF 4.0+, and I think it is due to FF as well. No other changes to my machine and have trouble-shooted everything.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.