Could Prevx be Causing BSODs?

Discussion in 'Prevx Betas' started by Brandonn2010, Apr 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,850
    This may be long.

    Since very late March I have had 3 BSODs. The first time I thought nothing of it, since I had had 2 or 3 before, all so sporadic I ignored it. Then early April I had another. I tested my hard drive and it was fine, and I tested my RAM, and found one or two bad sticks. I removed them and things seemed fine. Then a couple days ago I got another one. This time I used a program called BlueScreenView and it highlighted Ntoskrnl.exe in red, so that is probably the offending file. I unfortunately have been deleting all my minidumps with CCleaner, but I have disabled that now.

    The reason I ask if Prevx could be causing them is because I have installed that, ZoneAlarm, Firefox 4, and the Iron browser since right before April, and the last 3 BSODs were all when browsing online. So is it Prevx, or Firefox, or could it still be hardware?
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It's hard to say without seeing further details - if you do have another one, feel free to send the minidump to report@prevxresearch.com and I'll take a look :)
     
  3. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,850
    Will do. Also, has there been any reports of conflicts with Avast! 6? Should I add any exclusions for Avast!?
     
  4. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,960
    Ive had recent blue screens at home too. Was wondering if it was Prevx or the new version of Firefox.
     
  5. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i tested the new Firefox for 2 weeks without a problems.

    whenever (rarely) i get blue screens the culprit is always security softwares...
     
  6. monkeybutt

    monkeybutt Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    126

    With SD being one of those culprits :p every once in a while. Still like it better than RL.
     
  7. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,311
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
  8. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,850
    I think it may have been Firefox 4, since all 3 times I was on FF, and the 3rd time I had already removed my bad RAM. One of my friends had lots of crashes because of plugins for FF not being ready for FF 4 yet.

    As a side note, I was removing non plug-and-play drivers from previous security programs, and one of those drivers not being used right now is called "oowqmo". I can't find ANYTHING about it on Google.
     
  9. NiteSurfer

    NiteSurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    I did add exclusions to Avast because both Avast and Prevx have the behavior shields and I wanted to avoid potential conflicts. I added the exclusions to both software.

    I have had an occasional crash with FF 4.0+, and I think it is due to FF as well. No other changes to my machine and have trouble-shooted everything.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.