Could my ESET v4.0.417.0 be slowing my computer down and causing my browsers to crash

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by newbie2247, Apr 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. newbie2247

    newbie2247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    199
    Ever since I downloaded and installed v4 it seems to have drastically slowed my Vista Premium 32 bit down, much to my irritation and dismay. I have IE8 and FF3.0.9 for my 2 browsers and they both crash frequently now. I don't recall this problem at all with v3 so I am wondering if all this has to do with ESET v4.

    I went to the Know. Base and read quite a bit. The closest thing that addressed my problem concerning v4 had to do with slowness and suggested some steps. Well, when I went to do them, I did not have the items\options listed under the headings that they said to make the changes to. Go figure. My luck for you. Just now, I used IE8 to log into ESET to download v4.0.424.0 and keep it on my desktop, nearby and handy even though I'm told it's Beta. I hope not. Anyway, once I opened my browser and went to ESET's download page, the browser stopped working and closed. So I opened it again to my homepage and several others - one at a time, not all at once, and it was fine. I went back to the ESET page, crashed again.

    So, I have several questions that I truly need answered quickly. These constant crashes are going to cause my computer to "crash" too and die. I'm beside myself here, lol. Obviously I have a MAJOR problem and I badly need help.

    1a) Could I be right in thinking v.4.0.417.0 (every single setting is "default" btw) is my problem?

    b) Are there any changes I could make to repair\fix this problem?

    2) Would upgrading to v4.0.424.0 benefit me; does it address my kind of problems?

    3) I wish to run a hijackthis log and have it eyeballed by a reputable, skilled analyst. Maybe I have some kind of conflicts going on or a Trojan\Malware that slipped by ESET Smart Security - heaven forbid. Perish that thought! My question is: Is this necessary from what I've laid out (or can a few simple changes in my ESET fix things - I hope) and if it is, where are the top 3 -5 places to go and actually get replies?

    I have submitted hjt logs several times over the years and never once received a reply and that is the only reason I bring it up here in this forum, so I apologize in advance for it. I may need it but I doubt it, rather, I really hope not.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    try the new version & I doubt you have an infection...
     
  3. robis

    robis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Posts:
    149

    I have same error and with newer version i have same negative efect. But I found that I have some memory errors. See my thread. Specialy see this images. When I uninstal Smart security that all was ok. There must be some kind of nonsence bug (or feature).

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=239678
     
  4. DarrenDavisLeeSome

    DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    Riverside, CA U.S.A
    Probably.
     
  5. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany
    100% ;)
     
  6. a3_alin

    a3_alin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Romania
    v4 works fine for thousand users, but not for million... :)))))
     
  7. newbie2247

    newbie2247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    199
    EISEFR,

    I love this :thumb: :

    * If it happens once, it's a bug.
    * If it happens twice, it's a feature.
    * If it happens more than twice, it's a design philosophy.

    Says it all right there. Truer words were never spoken. ;)

    Well, yesterday (04-24-09) I upgraded to 4.0.024.0 and traded one set of problems for another one. Totally unexpected as my new problem is one the "changelogs" for the upgrade mentioned as "resolved". Ha! :argh: Also, I'm still experiencing browser crashes :gack: but the only good news is (so far, haven't had much time using it yet :doubt: ) it "appears" to be faster. Don't hold me to that just yet. :doubt:

    My NEW problem is that ESET is now sending all my emails to my SPAM folder. DANG!!! It's all here in this particular forum under another title. Just search yesterday for this title: "Email problem with version 4 upgrade"

    Truly and eagerly appreciate any and all suggestions, assistance, etc., etc.

    I am just so disappointed and frustrated - gross understatements, heh.

    Thank you very much in advance and have a great day.

    Signed:

    Near-hysterical, conflicted ESET fan (usually, almost always) and user in dire need of help. :(
     
  8. newbie2247

    newbie2247 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    199
    Very true.

    Would anybody feel inclined to please read my post again and brainstorm? I'd be very, very grateful. I need to get this email-spam thing solved.

    I know there are many great, very, very kind and extremely brilliant minds out there. I need to tap into them for this SERIOUS problem.

    I humbly prostrate myself to all of you and am begging for any and all assistance. :oops:

    Thanks again all and have a great day!
     
  9. Phenom

    Phenom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    United States
    Put it like this... look at av comparatives and other tests. Looks like Avira, Norton, McAfee, Avast are ahead of ESET.. I'm not saying ESET isn't good but there are better options out there than ESET. ESET v2 was the best.
     
  10. Phenom

    Phenom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    United States
    Uninstall ESET and see if it fix your problem newbie.

    Use Revo Uninstaller.:thumb:
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Well, inquiring minds wanted to know. I bought a 3-user license for the suite and installed it on 1-HP desktop, 1-HP laptop and 1-Dell laptop. On all 3 the install went flawlessly and is working great on all 3 with a different array of other software. To me, this Suite is fine. So, you may want to look at what other crap you have before you sling dong at Eset.:cautious:
     
  12. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany
    i doesn't either.... :cautious:
    Its a little better.. but still often sites or domains what are not reachable.
     
  13. The PIT

    The PIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Posts:
    185

    Back to ver 3 then.

    Looks like more beta testing eset by the end user.
     
  14. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    I've had to remove some post's from this thread. Can i remind you all please to stay on topic

    thank you
     
  15. gberns

    gberns Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    131
    Still having Foxfire take down the computer with new version.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.