Corrupted file

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by laf1935, Jan 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. laf1935

    laf1935 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I have been using for at least 3 years Acronis True image and I was recovering a file made 3 years ago each time and I did that with success for at least 10 times or more without problem but last week when I tried to recover that file I received this message :
    Image archive E:\21fev 0711.tib is corrupted.Please choose another file
    I don't know what happened can you help me .. Thanks
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    What version and build of TI are you using now?

    What version and build of TI was used to create the image?

    Is the image file still in the same place as before or has it been moved to a different drive?

    Is it on a hard drive (internal, USB, etc.) or on DVD?

    If the file has been copied, do you still have the original?

    Do you get the "corrupt" message when you Validate the image in Windows (XP, Vista, etc.)?
    From the TI CD (Full mode)?
    From the TI CD (Safe Mode)?
     
  3. laf1935

    laf1935 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I use Version 7 build (611)
    What is the meaning of TI where can I find that
    The file is at the same place where it was created
    This file is on internal Hard disk
    I got corrupted message when I try to restore the Acronis file
    I use windows Xp and Acronis start in Dos to restore the file

    I dont understand why I succeed to restore so many times before without problem
    Thanks
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    TI = True Image (you already have it)

    Do you have a copy of the image file (a backup version)?

    It's possible that the drive has developed a bad sector or some other problem that is causing an error when the file is read.

    Does TI 7 have a "Safe Mode" version?
    If so, have you tried to boot into it from the TI CD and Verify the image?

    Has chkdsk /f or chkdsk /r been run on the drive?
    If so, were any bad sectors reported?
    If not, you may want to run it, but I'd make a copy of the file first.

    The earliest version of TI I have used is 9 (build 3,677). Perhaps someone who's used version 7 will post if they have any suggestions.
     
  5. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Or a defrag could have goofed on one bit while moving all or part of the file. If one bit is wrong, ATI calls the file invalid.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.