corrupted archives when I changed my hdd external case

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ba2, Sep 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ba2

    ba2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Hello,
    TrueImage make me crazy !!!
    all worked fine with my usb basic external HDD case
    I switched to a CoolerMaster XCraft (same HDD) and plugged in with firewire.
    now everytime I want to backup, everytime it's corrupted :(

    in my log I have :
    event code="0" id="2" message="Error opening the file. (0x40007)
    Tag = 0xF35F747B3B21FA89" module="11" time="1157889812" type="3"
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2006
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Are you able to copy a large file to your new external box using Windows Explorer?

    Is the new box also USB as well as fire-wire? If so, does the USB access work?

    A further test to show your drive hardware is working well is to run the checksum calculation on the file, (the larger the better since some external chipsets choke on large files). Copy the file to the external drive and run the checksum calculation on it again, it should be the same. Finally, copy the file back to your internal HD and run the calculation again, it also should be the same.

    You can download a free checksum calculator from:

    http://www.irnis.net/soft/xcsc/

    You only need to verify using one of the 3 checksum methods available. The MD5 is a good one.
     
  3. ba2

    ba2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    yes I can copy/move/delete on my hdd no prob at all
    I'll see if usb is better and let u know
    another problem, under recevory cd, I can't access to my external hdd, it's checking partitions and...freeze on d:
     
  4. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I presume you meant "... copy/move/delete on my" External drive.

    Since it freezes it sounds like the Fire-wire driver provided in the Linux rescue environment may not be good for your device.
     
  5. ba2

    ba2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    grrrr I bought a good firewire hdd external case and TI can't backup on it, I switched to the usb port and it work good (archive not corrupted)
    please Acronis take a look at this problem.
    thanks
     
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Well, it looks like you've found the problem. You can take a bit of comfort in knowing the USB2 speed compares quite favorably with Firewire.

    You'll be more certain to get results if you raise an official support request to Acronis rather than relying on them picking up your problem from this forum.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ba2,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    First of all, please make sure you use the latest build (3677) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home which is available for downloading in the Product Updates section of your account at Acronis web site.

    You can find the full version name and build number by going to Help -> About... menu in the main program window.

    To get access to updates you should create an account then log in and use your serial number to register the software.

    Please uninstall the previously installed build by following Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Acronis True Image prior to installing build 3677.

    Note that you should create a new Bootable Rescue CD after installing the update.

    If the problem still persists with the latest build (3677) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home, please do the following:

    I. Regarding the issue with Acronis True Image 9.0 Home creating corrupt backups on the external hard drive connected to the computer via FireWire.

    Please do as seekforever has suggested and try moving\copying large files, e.g. disk\partition images created with Acronis True Image, from the internal hard drive to the external disk connected to the computer via FireWire using Windows Explorer or any other file manager and then comparing their checksums calculated using the eXpress CheckSum Calculator before and after the files are moved\copied.

    If the checksums calculated are different then the problem is not related to Acronis True Image, but to some peculiarities of your hardware configuration. Most likely, it is related to the faulty hardware device such as hard drive cable, controller, external enclosure or bad memory stick. In this case we recommend contacting the nearest service center in order to resolve the issue.

    If the checksums calculated are identical then please do the following:

    - Create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    - Perform a memory test using the memtest86+ utility and inform us about the result;

    - Try saving backups to any other location(s), i.e. any other internal, external or network drive(s), and then validate them both within Windows and using the Bootable Rescue CD. Let us know the results.

    II. Concerning the issue with Acronis True Image 9.0 Home not recognizing the external hard drive when it is operating in Linux-based Acronis Rescue Environment, i.e. when your computer is booted from the Bootable Rescue CD or Acronis Startup Recovery Manager (also known as F11 feature) is used.

    If the problem still persists with the Bootable Rescue CD created using the latest build (3677) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home then please provide us with the following information:

    - Boot the computer from the Bootable Rescue CD created using the latest build (3677) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home once more and create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please keep the external hard drive having the issue connected (via FireWire) and powered on while creating Linux system information.

    Note that sometimes the sysinfo.txt file is not readable under Windows. In this case please try entering the file name using capital letters (SYSINFO.TXT) or follow the instructions provided in this previous post of mine.

    If you do not have a floppy drive then please take a look at this previous post of mine explaining how to save the sysinfo.txt file to a USB flash drive.

    - Let us know the exact vendor and model of both your external hard drive and external case that you use.

    Then please submit a request for technical support. Provide the files and information collected in your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    P.S. Please also note that a possible workaround is to use a BartPE-based bootable CD created using Acronis True Image plug-in for BartPE and allowing you to boot the computer into a Windows-like environment loading the appropriate drivers for any hardware devices installed in the computer at startup.

    Acronis True Image plug-in for BartPE comes with the Acronis True Image installation and can be found in the
    \Program Files\Acronis\TrueImageHome\BartPE folder.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.