Corrupt files/chkdsk errors on mounted images (merged)

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Caranthir, Jun 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Caranthir

    Caranthir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    chkdsk errors on mounted images

    Hi,

    I'm a new (German) user to TI 8.0 (b859) and quite impressed so far. However, one thing is really bothering me. When I run chkdsk against a mounted NTFS image (created either in Windows or from the rescue media), I get loads of errors ('minor problem', 'orphaned file' etc.) and chkdsk eventually stops because the image drive is read only (fine). Image verification reports no errors.

    Anybody else seeing this? I haven't tried a restore yet, but this really worries me...
     
  2. TonioRoffo

    TonioRoffo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    Re: chkdsk errors on mounted images

    Bothered by it?

    Try restoring a file and compare it to an original. You won't be bothered, you'll be scared. Very scared.
     
  3. Caranthir

    Caranthir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    Re: chkdsk errors on mounted images

    Argh, you are right. Just created an image of an NTFS partition in 8.0.859 (not the OS partition, just data on 2nd hard drive, nothing in use there at time of backup), mounted it and there is not a single file that is intact! I can browse the image just fine but all the files are corrupted. I hope this gets fixed really soon!
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Re: chkdsk errors on mounted images

    When you run chkdsk on each partition, is it OK? Are you sure you don't have a failing HD?
     
  5. Caranthir

    Caranthir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    21
    Re: chkdsk errors on mounted images

    Of course I ran chkdsk against all partitions, no errors. I have now tried this on three different machines, always with the same results. Creating the image from the Rescue CD doesn't change anything.
     
  6. TonioRoffo

    TonioRoffo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    Re: chkdsk errors on mounted images

    I have the same problem using TI Enterprise Edition. Not a single file is consistent, verify claims the BU to be ok...

    I can't trust this software anymore.
     
  7. TonioRoffo

    TonioRoffo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    Re: chkdsk errors on mounted images

    Ok,

    It seems the problem isn't in the images, it's in the image mounter. Some ppl tried full restores on 1143 and the latest server/desktop version (853??) and it's all good....

    Not nice to introduce new bugs while squashing others.
     
  8. mark7

    mark7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Posts:
    110
    Re: chkdsk errors on mounted images

    Created an image to local disk using TI 8 build 859, mounted image files. All *.doc, *.xls, *.jpg, *.gif files "corrupt" (as in: un-openable). All *.txt files OK.

    Uninstalled build 859, rebooted. Installed build 826, rebooted. Mounted image created with build 859 using build 826. Files OK.

    Problem does seem to be in image mounter for "Explore Image".

    I did not try a "Restore" of 859 image with either build...
     
  9. TonioRoffo

    TonioRoffo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    Re: chkdsk errors on mounted images

    Sounds like Acronis needs a quick fix for this...

    Ilya, are you guys listening? Are you aware of the problems in the latest builds, 859 and 1143?

    Btw, the text files are corrupt also, check the latest lines, most of the time it's just incomplete. TXT's can't really be corrupt, there's no CRC checking or anything, it's just plain text... but incomplete in the restore!
     
  10. WhatsGoingOn

    WhatsGoingOn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Corrupt files

    I just updated to build 859 and tried to explore an image created with build 826. The image mounted ok, but all the files on the mounted drive were corrupt. When I looked into the files, they had a long string of nulls placed part way in the files. Removing build 859 and re-installing build 826 solved the issue. Any suggestions?
     
  11. mark7

    mark7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Posts:
    110
    Re: chkdsk errors on mounted images

    Could be, Tonio, as I only checked small txt files...
     
  12. rjbsec

    rjbsec Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    132
    Re: Corrupt files

    Same here - looks like Build 859 is useless even on an 859 created image!!!!!!!!!
    Who tested this upgrade before release? :mad:
     
  13. rjbsec

    rjbsec Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    132
    Re: chkdsk errors on mounted images

    Corruption not just with 859 on 826 but also with 859 on 859 - major issue needs fixing here and quickly!
     
  14. TonioRoffo

    TonioRoffo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    Re: Corrupt files

    Same story here on Enterprise build 1143... and THAT one is almost a month old. I'm reverting to the older build.
     
  15. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    Re: Corrupt files

    Same problem here on both my Dell computers. All my jpg pictures are corrupt, cannot open any Word document, etc, etc... Acronis Development Team better get back to the drawing board.
     
  16. TonioRoffo

    TonioRoffo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    Re: Corrupt files

    DLD, just go back to the older builds. The backups are fine, it's the image explorer that is gone cuckoo.
     
  17. rjbsec

    rjbsec Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    132
    Re: Corrupt files

    Uninstalled Build 859, ("Acronis Trueimage was not uninstalled"!!!), re-installed Build 826 and all files, including the full image made with Build 859, are okay again.
    People do not leave Build 859 on your machines!
     
  18. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    Re: Corrupt files

    Yup, going back to build 826 brings things back to normal.
     
  19. Sparker256

    Sparker256 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Re: Corrupt files

    I also found corupt files when using image explorer with build 859 so went back to build 826. All is fine now.

    Bill
     
  20. TonioRoffo

    TonioRoffo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    237
    Re: Corrupt files

    Just did a test with Enterprise 1123, works ok.
     
  21. mazaprin

    mazaprin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    57
    Re: Corrupt files

    I also had the same problem. I downloaded and installed TI 8.0 (826) and created a full image on my external USB 2.0 HD and all checked OK. I mounted the partition's images to explore and I could open the pictures and documents.
    Then oi received Email from Acronis alerting me that the new Build 859 was available for download, so I Uninstalled build 826 and downloaded and installed it (have not created any image yet with this build) and then I went to this Forum and see this post about corrupted files.

    I then used the build 859 installed to explore the Image I created with Build 826 and I could not open any pictures ("preview image not available") nor open any documents (the application seems to open but inmediately closes).

    I am now downloading the Build 826 again and will uninstall Build 859 until Acronis fixes this problem.
     
  22. mazaprin

    mazaprin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    57
    Re: Corrupt files

    I also had the same problem. I downloaded and installed TI 8.0 (826) and created a full image on my external USB 2.0 HD and all checked OK. I mounted the partition's images to explore and I could open the pictures and documents.
    Then oi received Email from Acronis alerting me that the new Build 859 was available for download, so I Uninstalled build 826 and downloaded and installed it (have not created any image yet with this build) and then I went to this Forum and see this post about corrupted files.

    I then used the build 859 installed to explore the Image I created with Build 826 and I could not open any pictures ("preview image not available") nor open any documents (the application seems to open but inmediately closes).

    I am now downloading the Build 826 again and will uninstall Build 859 until Acronis fixes this problem.

    I believe it is worth noting that I have been using ATI 7.0 (634) for a year and it always worked flawlessly (the best version in my opinion) in all aspects (creating, checking restoration and exploring) and it restored my full system in 3 or 4 ocassions. I upgraded to version 8.0 because I was offered a FREE upgrade by Acronis BUT I keep my version 7.0 (634) Boot CD and several Images and the Installer just in case ATI 8.0 fails to restore or whatever. I am just TESTING ATI 8.0 and it seems that Build 826 is OK (I did a restoration with it) but Build 859 needs to be polished.
     
  23. curiosity v7

    curiosity v7 Guest

    Re: Corrupt files

    curious if version 7 experienced a similar development cycle (several builds) before you became a happy camper with it?
     
  24. mazaprin

    mazaprin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    57
    Re: Corrupt files

    Hi curiosity v7

    I will check m y records to answer your question properly.

    On january 2004 I purchased ATI 7.0 (did not note the build but it was recently released) and started creating weekly Full system, single file Images to my external USB 2.0 120GB HD (I don't trust the "Secure Zone" nor any backups inside my internal HD), NOR I do any incremental backups (to me it is a waste of time and could only benefits a business). a weekly full backup image to an external HD BEATS any other options in my opinion).

    I had no problems with this version 7, it created, checked and restored flawlessly in less than 30 minutes (13GB of my HD in a 7GB Image without any compression). On August 2004, I upgraded to version 634 (that means that my initial purchase was the previous build).

    Again, build 634 worked flawlessly in all aspects and I restored my system on 2 or 3 ocassions with it and it went like a stroll in the park. Later on Acronis released build 638 but after reading the new features I decided that it was not worth to upgrade because if my 634 was working like a charm, WHY risk
    my system with a little update that could bring problems? All this was before installing SP2 on my Windows XP Home.

    On january 2005 I installed SP2 and all was fine without any problems (I followed the pre-installation recommendations of the experts like Fred Langa)
    and ATI 7.0 (634) kept working fine even in an SP2 environment.

    When they released version 8.0 months ago I did not upgrade because this is a small update released as a "mayor" Upgrade and the only difference between version 7 and 8 is that version 8 does not include the Page File on the images stating that ot would make the creation checking and restoring much faster. recently Acronis offered me a FREE upgrade to ATI 8.0 (826)
    and i decided to TEST it, so I downloaded and installed it (after uninstalling version 7 but saving and storing the installer and the Boot CD just in case anything go wrong with version 8 I can restore from several ATI 7 images I have kept on my External HD).

    After I installed ATI 8 (826) I created an image, checked it and the next day I performed a restoration and all went well and I clocked every proccess and i found out that there was no difference in the amount of time it took to create check and restore compared to version 7 REGARDLESS of whether the Page File was included or not. I notified the results to Acronis and they provided no answer as to why version 8 was not faster than my version 7.

    Then, a couple days after I installed version 8 (826) I received Email from Acronis notifying me the release of build 859 and a link to download it, which I did and removed build 826 and installed 859 assuming that if build 826 worked well the 859 will work also well. I was mistaken.

    I have not had the opportuinity yet to create an image with build 859 (I installed it yesterday) and then I visited this Forum by chance and I found out about this topic of corrupted files and I decided to check an image created with build 826 using the build 859 software and I had the same problems with corrupted files, could not open pictures nor documents (despite that this image was checked OK with build 826 and I even performed a good restoration of my systenm with this very image so it is impossible that these files could be corrupt unless the build 859 is unable to read them properly.

    I am presently downloading build 826 again (this time Iwill save and store the installer) and later I will re-install it and explore the same image to see if I can open pictures and docs.

    One thing that all experts say is that you are not obligated to upgrade any application or software if your existing version is working well and if an application is working perfectly, leave it alone! and always check what new
    features come with the new version or upgrade to see if they are worthy or not. I believe that version 7.0 Build 634 (the champ!) is still downloadable from Acronis and I suggest that you download it and save and store the Installer (or test it by creating and restoring an image) or if version 8 (826) has worked well for you and restored well, keep it for a while until build 859 be polished a little more so it can work well. Do not rush to upgrade.
     
  25. rjbsec

    rjbsec Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Posts:
    132
    Re: Corrupt files

    No comment from Acronis yet?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.