copying xp without cd

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by chris45, Aug 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chris45

    chris45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Posts:
    94
    i have a friend who wants to reinstall his computer but can't find his xp cd and i dont have xp. I read on the net somewhere that you can still make a xp cd by going to windows32 file. I did a google search today but couldnt find anything on how to do it. Can someone help me out on how to do this?
     
  2. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  3. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    I used that one there. My laptop came with recovery media that had XP with no service pack but always saw the I386 folder in the Windows directory. I was bored one weekend and decided to give this a try even though the site warned against it but one member said it worked for them as quoted below.
    I followed the instructions and it worked. Managed to even get it up to the Service Pack 3 level. I've used it on mine and about 10 other OEM laptops(using there key) with no problems.
     
  4. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    S'good article. When I was looking for a solution years ago I ended up following vbdotnet's OEM solution. She went without a hitch.
     
  5. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Furthermore Chris, without the second scenario in place your friend either calls for an install disk or creates an image of the existing install and tries to work out any kinks. Short of these their options are rather (dare I suggest ...) slim if they're look'in to continue with BG's Windows.
     
  6. chris45

    chris45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Posts:
    94
    thanks this seems like alot of steps to create a windows cd. Ill forward these links to him
     
  7. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Ya know Chris, if your friend had made an additional copy to save in an alternate location I doubt you'd now be posting on their behalf.
     
  8. LockBox

    LockBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,275
    Location:
    Here, There and Everywhere
    GlobalForce is right. ^^^^^

    Actually, any XP disk will usually work if you have a valid key. The big exceptions are Dell computers.
     
  9. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  10. chris45

    chris45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Posts:
    94
    why is dell the exception
     
  11. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    If it's OEM, it would need an OEM disk.
     
  12. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Your friend have a Dell Chris?
     
  13. chris45

    chris45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Posts:
    94
    yes he does
     
  14. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Then your friend should find a discrepancy between what's on the box and what this has to say. Have'm run it!
     
  15. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667

    So would that not apply to ALL computers? Dell/HP etc..


    Will any OEM disc work on any OEM key? I have couple of OEM XP Pro discs with my dell laptops; and I have a couple of older computers for which I dont have OEM discs, and that have different versions of XP (home/media center) installed.
    Can I use the XP Pro OEM discs with the XP key on those other computers?
     
  16. Aaron Here

    Aaron Here Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
  17. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    Do you have the keys for the OEM Pro discs?
    I've found on Dells older laptops, it makes no difference. Pro and Home were interchangeable as long as the key of the install OEM disc was used. Keep in mind this was older laptops. To date, the installs are verified as Genuine by MS
     
  18. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667
  19. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667

    Greg S, what do you mean? I have the keys for the OEM Pro discs, but the keys are in use on the corresponding computers. Thus, these keys cannot be used elsewhere.

    The computer which is running XP home, has its own key; but has OEM disc missing.
     
  20. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    In short, I installed XP OEM Home on Dell Laptops that came with OEM Pro and vice versa. I used the keys that came with the OEM discs. It made no difference that the keys were in use elsewhere. Just for the record, it wasn't my laptops nor OEM discs but these persons wanted it tried and it worked. One was even an OEM disc for another laptop brand name. I haven't a clue as to why it worked unless it had something to do with the laptops being ancient.

    The legal way of doing this if there is one, is to use the OEM disc of the same version that came installed on the laptop and using that laptops OEM key.
     
  21. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    Thanks.

    Darn, so I guess the CDs downloaded from Technet wont work? With the OEM keys on the computer.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.