Copying Acronis Files to DVD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by iNexxFear, Jan 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iNexxFear

    iNexxFear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Hello,

    I have some "tib" files that I want to archive off to DVD. When creating the image I had it make it so that they were DVD File Size.

    I have also previously restored from them but no longer need these images consuming thier 16 GB worth of space any longer on my HDD. So what I would like to do is move them off to DVD+RW material and then have them accessible for use at a later point.

    HOWEVER, the issue that is occuring is that when I load the first disk with the first piece and try to select it via acronis at a boot screen it states that the image is corrupt.

    The only thing relevant that I can see is that NERO while burning the image stated that I do not have rights (aka - "access denied") but the burn and validation seemed to have gone smoothly.

    So my question is, why can't I just burn the .tib files off to a file and then reference the DVD. Is it that they were not burned correctly? or is it because all of the 16GB need to be together in order to validate? Or further more is it one of those things that I need to actually load disc 4 of the image to correctly read the data and then let it go from there?

    Any thoughts or steps that I need to do to get the images to burn to disc correctly would be appreciated!
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    All of the "splits" need to be together in the same folder or directory on the computer for TI to see the complete image as valid.

    After you burn all the DVDs, copy the TIB files back to the hard drive and run a validation. If it validates okay, then you got a good burn on your DVDs.
     
  3. iNexxFear

    iNexxFear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I restored to another computer... However it was its c drive... Upon selecting it says that the image is still corrupt...

    I had Nero validate the file, but I always get the error above when burning... I have even tried to take ownership... Could DVD+RW material or other be changing the structure? thus a corrupt image?

    Any other advice would be appreciated!
     
  4. iNexxFear

    iNexxFear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I have just had a chance to do a little bit more validation on this... I loaded my acronis back up on from dos mode and checked out the images that I am having archive to a cd.

    My Base PC says that the files as they stand on the drive are still good...

    I am going to try this process on one other PC to see if its the material that I'm writing it to, or what... I am just confused as to what is really causing this error message.

    Any thoughts are appreciated!
     
  5. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    Put the dvd media in your computer and use nero to run a disc quality test. Anything above 85 percent should be ok, but I would be looking at 90 percent or above for backup purposes to work good.

    Nero will always say "burn successful" when it finishes burning a dvd but, reading it back thats what you need to be concerned with.

    Many people don't blame the dvd media when they have problems playing back dvd's. I always blame the dvd media first. Don't be surprise if your media quality is in the 80's or lower. Theres only a few select brand of blank dvd's that can test out at 90 or better.
     
  6. iNexxFear

    iNexxFear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    OK... I think I have a lesson's learned session for myself and wanted to share with all of you...

    To burn a image that was created from a Boot DVD (Full) Mode, and done to an external or seperate hard drive using NTFS... Do the following.

    1 - Access the file
    2 - Click Properties
    3 - Security Tab
    4 - Advanced Button at the bottom
    5 - Owner Tab (Notice owner not labled)
    6 - Edit Button
    7 - Select Your account
    8 - Apply and return to previous screen
    9 - Ensure owner is yourself
    10 - Apply back so the security tab now displays (Administrator and your account)
    11 - Edit this by using the edit button
    12 - Type in "Everyone" into the bottom
    13 - When returned to the previous screen everyone only needs read and read & execute
    14 - Once done nero no longer complains about access denied

    The thing to note is I could access it... However NERO IS NOT using your account.... It is using a different account which will not be granted access...

    So it makes me think that the image was being written out with a bunch of 0's just consuming disc space on the optical media....

    So glad that I was using RW material!

    Will give you another update when this process completes...
     
  7. iNexxFear

    iNexxFear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    That seems to have done it... I can now restore and burn without any error messages!

    Thanks for the advice...

    Additionally I should note that I am not using Nero Express, instead using Nero Burning ROM with UDF support and Format 1.02 as identified in a different post on the pages here!

    Hope this proves useful for someone else (or myself if memory fails me) :D
     
  8. ploquit

    ploquit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    26
    wow... i'm re-burning, so far sucessfully thanks to your tip.

    I also didn't realize it couldn't validate from the dvd since it spans more than one disk. so i copied the dvd files to a folder on my Desktop, where I'll validate from there (and delete when done)

    Also... I made a change in the recording format... recording as Mastered disk.

    bumping to help others

    *update... disks burned and validated. extra copy on computer now deleted.

    I am wondering if I am having problems resizing my secure Zone on account of not claiming ownership of C: drive... see this thread post 7 for details

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=203393&highlight=ownership
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2008
  9. ploquit

    ploquit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    26
    How does claiming ownership of C: drive affect other programs like live update?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.