Copy virus signature database to another computer?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by MicaX27, Aug 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MicaX27

    MicaX27 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I convinced a friend of mine to give NOD32 a try when his Norton license expired a few days ago. He installed the trial version of NOD32 Antivirus 4, but he can't seem to complete the initial 17 MB virus signature database update. Maybe it's because he's on dialup, but once the update gets to the 10%-40% completed point, there'll either be a server error, or the progress indicator will suddenly jump to 100% completed, accompanied by a message saying that the update was completed successfully when, unfortunately, it wasn't. The virus signature database is still dated 20090518 (#4083). My question: Is there any way I can load my up-to-date virus signature database on an USB drive and then copy it to my friend's computer? If so, which files do I need to copy and which files need to be replaced/overwritten on my friend's computer?
     
  2. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    there isnt any solution to do an offline update for ESET AV/ESS Home, you must do online update.
     
  3. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    No, this is not humanly possible.
     
  4. Nerimash

    Nerimash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Discussing unsupported illegal tools is not allowed. Post removed.
    Marcos
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 27, 2009
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    Please , refer to this KB article to fix the update problem:
    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2071#soln2071_video

    Perform the recommendations in Safe Mode


    And remind your frient that we are in 21st cenutury - he/she should immediately start using high speed internet connection :)
     
  6. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    Yeah, great if you can get one. What about all the people in many countries who cannot get a broadband connection?
     
  7. GAN

    GAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    Then nod32 might not be the product for them. But all the AV software today require a internet connection to be up to date.
     
  8. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    What are these countries without connection with speed not enough to update NOD32?
    Some AVs require active internet connection to even install themselves , other to register and start to use . No internet , no AV .
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.