Copy Thinkpad disk with Hidden Protected Area

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by richk, Dec 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. richk

    richk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Thinkpads have replaced the hidden partition used for recovery with an area at the end of the disk that looks like unpartitioned space. Is there any way I can back up the entire disk, including this space, using True Image Home 10? The documentation talks about the option for a sector-by-sector copy, but I cannot figure out how to do it. Will this backup the unpartitioned space?
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    If it is really unpartitioned space, there's no need to back it up. If it has the recovery data, it is in a partition but it may be a very odd partition that TI doesn't recognize.

    What does the manufacturer's tech support say about what's in that area?
     
  3. richk

    richk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    It's a Thinkpad and they say the recovery data is there and it isn't a partition. THeir recovery process access the sectors directly. It is their "new better" way to do restore to factory configuration. I just read a 13 page document describing the advantages. I liked the old way just fine. It's called a firmware secured area.
     
  4. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Why not do an image backup using the full disk option as below.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=182030

    After the image completed, simulate starting a restore and select the just completed backup as the files being restored. Look how the backup partitions are displayed.

    Remember, you can practice performing most functions (pressing next) all the way up to the "proceed" screen which is about the 8th screen in. When practicing, don't press proceed or process will initiate.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=185364&d=1164484722
     
  5. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Wonderful, everyone has a new and better way to do things, but it makes them proprietary and very inconvenient.

    Of course, you won't need the Thinkpad backup once you have a TrueImage backup. Personally, I wouldn't worry about it. I'd just image the C partition.

    How do you access the Thinkpad recovery data? Do you run a utility on a disk or hold down a key during boot up or....?
     
  6. richk

    richk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    When I look at the Image Backup, as suggested by GroverH, it thinks the disk is 4GB less than the real size, so the image will contain only that much.

    I do need/want the full backup because I fix up and sell laptops. With older models, I could do a full image backup of each model. That would be a copy of XP and all the files installed, plus the service partition. I could blast that onto a new drive and plug it into another laptop. When I turned it on, it would tell me the hardware had changed and I needed to reauthenticate. I would do that using the COA from the new machine and I would be up and running in a few minutes. If I cannot do that, I need to restore the machine from backup CDs, then apply all the newest drivers, maybe winXP SP2, all the security crap, etc. The process takes all day.

    As far as how to access the data, you press a blue "access IBM" button on the keyboard and a miracle occurs. Actually, rather than a miracle, it uses code in the firmware to access the data.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.