Copie of Backups

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by rainerschaele, May 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rainerschaele

    rainerschaele Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I have got True Image 9.0. I would like to make an image of my system every week and keep the last 2 images, so that I have the chance to restore a backup that is 1,2 or 3 weeks old.

    I the moment when True Image creates a new images the last version is delete. So when I get system-failure in the moment when a new Images is made, i have got no Backup - is the right.

    Rainer
     
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    I might not be understanidng your situation but if yo let ATI name the backups, it will name them mybackup, mybackup1, mybackup2. . . .

    The problem then is running out of disk room as the files pile up. ;-)
     
  3. rainerschaele

    rainerschaele Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    No it does not name the backups: mybackup, mybackup1, mybackup2. When the process starts the last backup is deleted and then the new backup is made.

    Which methode do you use: Complett, diff. or inkre.?
     
  4. Mem

    Mem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    292
    If you want one full image a week for three weeks you need to have three scheduled tasks saving the image to a different name. Have each save a full image every 3 weeks (name the files soemthing like week1, week2, week3). Each time the task x runs it will overwrite the previous weekx image.

    The only problem with this is that you need to set up a task and then run it, wait a week and do the same for week 2, wait a week and do the same for week 3. There is no delay in task start times right now in TI9 Home.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello rainerschaele,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    To expand Mem's reply, I would also like to mention that you can limit the amount of images created by Acronis True Image in three different ways:

    - Use Acronis Secure Zone (see section 3.3 of Acronis True Image 9.0 User's Guide for further details);

    - Use batch file (script) which deletes or renames images as a pre\post-backup command (see section 5.3.3 of the above mentioned User's Guide);

    - Schedule four tasks so that two sets of backups covering last two weeks\months will be created (see these previous threads for details: Can TI9 control the number of backup sets?, differential back up Q's).

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  6. rainerschaele

    rainerschaele Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Ok, I have tried this. But I do not get around with it. Here is wath i did:

    I made 4 .tib files called system_1.tib .. system_4.tib

    I made the following Batch-File called "Backup_Renme.bat":

    "del system_4.tib
    ren system_3.tib system_4.tib
    ren system_2.tib system_3.tib
    ren system_1.tib system_2.tib"

    Now I have made a new Task in ATI and used the .bat-File as the before-task. When I run the Task it stops with a Problem.

    Can you help me? Is Anyone able to write a working .bat-file?
     
  7. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Here are some thoughts that I have. Obviously this can be modified to meet your individual needs.

    Copy the following into Notepad and save it as a text (.txt) file. Edit the text file to change the path from drive X to what ever drive letter you are using. Add a folder on this drive named 'True Image Backup' for storing your images. Rename the text file to a .bat extension. True Image should now be directed to this file 'something.bat'. Your new image should be named 'system_1.tib'.


    @echo off

    REM Note that Drive X: is the drive containing the image files. Rename it as needed.

    RMDIR /S /Q "X:\True Image Backup\system_4.tib"

    Move "X:\True Image Backup\system_3.tib" "X:\True Image Backup\system_4.tib"
    Move "X:\True Image Backup\system_2.tib" "X:\True Image Backup\system_3.tib"
    Move "X:\True Image Backup\system_1.tib" "X:\True Image Backup\system_2.tib"

    EXIT
     
  8. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Additional thoughts

    I thought it might be appropriate to provide a description of the 's' and 'q' switches used with the command RMDIR:

    Removes (deletes) a directory.

    RMDIR [/S] [/Q] [drive:]path
    RD [/S] [/Q] [drive:]path

    /S Removes all directories and files in the specified directory
    in addition to the directory itself. Used to remove a directory
    tree.

    /Q Quiet mode, do not ask if ok to remove a directory tree with /S
     
  9. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Looking at your approach I think I understand the problem you were having. I have not used the ren or rename function so I can't say for sure. Looking at the switches for ren or rename I believe the issue is that the full path was not properly set up. Note where spaces exist.

    See the following:
    RENAME [drive:][path]filename1 filename2.
    REN [drive:][path]filename1 filename2.

    Note that you cannot specify a new drive or path for your destination file.
     
  10. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    The way i do it -
    If at all possible, do full backups (preferably to an external HD (or DVD
    now with latest build).

    I do a full backup weekly and retain 3 full backups (as in grandfather,
    father, son concept). Any files that i just must have up-to-date copies
    of, i will put on a floppy or cd-rw until the next full backup.

    Naming: i use the month-day-year (May0506, May1206, etc), helps to
    make sure you get the right file to restore.

    Works very well and no scheduling is needed.

    Just something to think about.
    savagcl
    Edit/Delete Message
     
  11. rainerschaele

    rainerschaele Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    OK - after trying a long time I got it: Here is my solution which i think works:
    Before runing the Backup the follwing Batch-File is started:

    backuup_rename.bat:
    ------------------------
    cd /d "e:\backups" <- this is the path where my Backups are
    del system_4.tib <- "system_4.tib" is the oldest Backup which is deleted
    ren system_3.tib system_4.tib
    ren system_2.tib system_3.tib
    <- rename the other files
    copy system_1.tib system_2.tib <- copy the latest
    -------------------------
    that's it. ATI is the starting the backup with the file "system_1.tib"


    Bruce Mahnke: Thanks.

    to savagcl: I think you are doing this manuelly - I was looking for an automatic way to solve this problem.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.