Cool Web Search

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Riverrun, Mar 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Riverrun

    Riverrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    ~
    CWshredder found the following items on my PC:
    CWS.Mupdate
    CWS. Msconfd
    CWS.Smartsearch
    CWS.Aboutblank

    After running fix, the program told that the items were not present.

    After rebooting, I did a new scan and the items were 'found' again.

    What's going on there?

    Did CWshredder remove them or not?

    I can't figure it out.

    Can anyone help?
     
  2. Get

    Get Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 12, 2007
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Did u try SuperAntispyware free and AVG antspyware free?
     
  4. fcukdat

    fcukdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    England,UK
    2nd to what aigle has suggested but run them both in safe mode:thumb:


    The reason why CWS is failing is that it has not been updated to deal with most of the recent stuff and only dose a part job which then allows the infection to restore itself on reboot:rolleyes:
     
  5. Riverrun

    Riverrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    ~
    Guys, thanks for the help. I got rid of them eventually. My internet connection is faulty and that's how they got in in the first place. I need a new provider. At least I discovered what was going wrong and I won't be using the old ISP anymore.

    They're gone anyway after a dreadful struggle.

    Thanks again folks.
     
  6. Riverrun

    Riverrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    ~
    Found the following suspicious file on my system:C:\WINDOWS\Alcmtr.exe. CWShredder indicates that it might be connected to Cool Web Search. Does anyone recognise it?
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Upload it to virus total.
     
  8. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
  9. fcukdat

    fcukdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    569
    Location:
    England,UK
  10. Riverrun

    Riverrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    ~
    Thanks for the help, guys.
     
  11. Riverrun

    Riverrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    ~
    Looks like C:\WINDOWS\Alcmtr.exe is not infected. Thanks again for the help.
     
  12. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    What were the results.( don,t put a screenshot though).
     
  13. Riverrun

    Riverrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    ~
    Didn't get a reply yet but scanned with Avira and Kaspersky and it came out clean.
     
  14. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    On their homepage, u can just upload the file to get results online instantly rather than sending a mail to them.
     
  15. Riverrun

    Riverrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    ~
    Aigle, I tried that, uploaded the file and couldn't find the scan button. Didn't like to pester people by asking again for help.

    OK, here goes, how do I scan once I've loaded the file?
     
  16. Riverrun

    Riverrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    ~
    All I can see is a send button. I press that and nothing happens. o_O
     
  17. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
  18. Riverrun

    Riverrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    ~
    Did the Kaspersky file scan and it's come up clean...of virus at any rate. I'm more concerned about malware infection.
     
  19. Riverrun

    Riverrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    ~
    I think Virustotal is scanning now. I had scripts disallowed for that site.
     
  20. Riverrun

    Riverrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    ~
    I give up...I just can't scan it with Virustotal...phew:oops:
     
  21. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    sometimes you have to allow scripts for certain sites then refresh the page to upload files.
    lodore
     
  22. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    U need to allow scrips for Virus total. It does not work for me in Opera( unless I allow scripts globally in Opera) but works Ok in FireFox and IE. U can try InternetExplorer.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan

    Attached Files:

  24. Riverrun

    Riverrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    ~
    Guys, thanks again for the help. It just wouldn't work with FF. Tried it on IE and it worked a dream. No worries...the decision was unanimous, no virus found. That's a relief. I thought I might be infected. Boy, am I glad. Great suggestion! Thanks again. :D :D :D
     
  25. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Nice to hear.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.