Converting HD from FAT32 to NTFS . . .

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by sturgisrun, May 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sturgisrun

    sturgisrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    Hi All:
    I am new to DD 10.0- have been playing with it for about 4-5 days.

    I have a total of 4 computers- all are NTFS File system on the HD except an Acer Ferrari 1004 Laptop (XP Pro) with FAT32-plus I have a WD Passport also wth Fat32.

    ------------
    #1-> Can I convert these to NTFS ?
    #2-> If so -> can it be done wthout losing data??
    #3-> If so-> can it be done wth DD 10.0 & Howo_O
    #4-> If it can be done but not with DD 10.0-> what can I use to do ito_O?
    #5-> If this cannot be done with out losing data how could I do that o_O??
    ------------

    Sorry to have so many questions- but - I have found that this is the place to ask them since you get 'real time/life' answers here.

    Thanx in advance for any help you can give me . . .

    From the High Desert of New Mexico . . .

    Terry
    __________________________
     
  2. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Terry:

    This seems to be a popular question lately. DD won't convert FAT32 to NTFS but Windows will. Or, you can copy your data off temporarily, reformat the disk, and then copy the data back.

    Here is a discussion of the same question. This thread has a link to another thread discussing the same thing. Hopefully some answers to your questions are in one of those 2 places.
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  5. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    It obviously doesn't do any harm to do this, but it isn't necessary if the FAT32 partition was created by XP or later. You can then use the convert command without any risk of the cluster size problem.

    I have recently done such a conversion and it formatted to 4KB clusters.
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Interesting. I converted from FAT32 to NTFS on one of my previous computers and got the small cluster issue. But I think the partition was created by Partition Magic. Thanks for the info.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.