Convert Image files to VMDK for Instant Virtualization

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mario9963, Nov 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mario9963

    mario9963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    The ATI 9.1 Enterprice with Universal Restore you claim tha is possible to convert image files to VMDK for instant virtualization.
    Can anybody tell me how to do it ?

    Thanks for the help

    Mario
     
  2. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Who is your question aimed at, me or Acronis?

    If you are interested in solving the problem using my BartPE plugins, send me a PM with your email address. I will send you instructions.
     
  3. Thamuz

    Thamuz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Posts:
    78
    mario9963,

    Converting tib to vmdk will not be available till the realese of Acronis True Image Echo.

    Where did you hear that you are able to convert with 9.1?

    -Thamuz
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
  5. Thamuz

    Thamuz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Posts:
    78
    True Image will allow you to restore P2V, V2P, and V2V, but you can't actually convert a tib file to vmdk with 9.1.


    -Thamuz
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Then the posted info is wrong:
     
  7. Thamuz

    Thamuz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Posts:
    78
    MudCrab

    Both statements are correct. However in order to restore a tib to a virtual machine you must create a virtual machine and have that virtual machine boot to an ISO conataining True Image rescue media. Once you are booted to that env ironment you will then be able to perform the restore process as normal.

    If you are restoring a P2V you will need to use Universal restore to load the VMWare drivers.

    CURRENTLY THERE IS NO OPTION TO CONVERT A TIB FILE TO A VMDK FILE

    -Thamuz
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    In that case, I wouldn't say the statements are correct. What you're saying is that you have to restore using UR to get the image into the VM.

    To me, when I read Convert Image Files to VMDK or VHD for Instant Virtualization, that means that I can convert the image file to a VMDK or VHD and just boot the VM with NO RESTORE NEEDED.

    If a normal UR restore is needed then what's the point of even making the statement? It's obvious that you'd need UR to restore to a VM from a PC image because the "hardware" is different.
     
  9. Thamuz

    Thamuz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Posts:
    78
    I don't know about the statement. I didn't make the statement.

    Also the article you quoted from is for Acronis FullCircle which was never released.

    I do know that True Image 9.1 any version or flavor does not have the option to convert a tib file to vmdk. That option will not be available till Echo.

    -Thamuz
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2007
  10. Woody777

    Woody777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    484
    The Quote is a press release dated January. It states exactly what the author of this Thread is asking. I did not see anything about Full Circle. If in fact TI will do this Iwill switch back to Acronis. Perhap ssomeeone from the company woluld be interested in Clarifying to us.
     
  11. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Thamux is correct. Echo (not released yet) will allow direct conversion. Currently, you need to use Universal Restore to restore a physical tib to a VM. The process is made much easier if you use BartPE to boot the new VM and include two of my plugins. The TI plugin with UR and the VMware Tools plugin. With this combination, you will be able to use Folder Sharing to see your tib file on a host hard drive and VMware SCSI drivers will be loaded to let BartPE see SCSI disks in the VM. You will also be able to see your tib file on a network share. The VMware Tools plugin gives you all the features of VMware Tools in BartPE. You'll still need to supply VMware SCSI drivers during the UR restore to put the image on a SCSI VHD and have Windows boot.
     
  12. Thamuz

    Thamuz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Posts:
    78
    From the Article:

    Trust me when I say the ability to use the True Image 9.1 software to convert a tib to a vmdk is not available.

    The software will have this option in Echo.

    http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc54/emwolb72/tib2vmdk.jpg
     
  13. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    It's not that I don't believe you, I do. I just think the press release and the product comparison are misleading.

    Also, the paragraph above the one you quoted says:
    To me, that sounds like BOTH products support it. However, that seems not to be the case. It seems that you need both programs (with FullCircle now possibly being replaced with Echo).

    As for the comparison page, Acronis should then remove that feature from Workstation 9.1 as it is not available, just as they had to remove the Password-based encryption (AES) checkmark from TI 11.
     
  14. Woody777

    Woody777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    484
    The product comparison page of ATI Workstation states specifically that the ability to create VMDK is integral to TI 9.1 Workstation. You guys may be correct when you say that ATI won't do this yet but the data seems to boldly state the opposite. The press release was released on January 24th by Acronis & Baker technologies. You can find this under press releases.
     
  15. mario9963

    mario9963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Why Acronis said the this is a feature of the ATI 9.1 Enterprice if is NOT true ?
     
  16. mario9963

    mario9963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Correct ! but I'm waithing to se if this is the true !
     
  17. mario9963

    mario9963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    I fully agree with you !
     
  18. mario9963

    mario9963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    to everybody !
     
  19. mario9963

    mario9963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Great ! Can we beta test this product ?

    Thanks
     
  20. mario9963

    mario9963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Reply to TABMUZ

    It is possible to test the new Echo?

    Thanks
     
  21. arthurw

    arthurw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    South Africa
    Acronis seem to be in the midst of revamping their website (some pages are new design, some old). Methinks the webmaster is not getting her change control right, so ATI9.1 pages are linking to upcoming Echo stuff ...?

    There's certainly no one-click vhd / vmdk support in 9.1, but there is in Echo, apparently.
     
  22. FBMachines

    FBMachines Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    229
    Location:
    Texas
  23. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello everyone,

    We are terribly sorry for inconvenience. The second link MudCrab pointed to (What version of Acronis True Image will work best for you?) is a page designed for comparison of Acronis True Image 11 Home with newly released Acronis True Image Echo Workstation. It should say "Acronis True Image Echo Workstation" instead of "Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation" everywhere on the page. We have contacted the responsible team and the page will be fixed as soon as possible.

    As for the interview, as Woody777 noted, it's quite old (by the terms of IT industry), and our company course has changed somewhat since that time.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  24. hakre

    hakre Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Nevertheless, even though "Acronis True Image Echo Workstation" offers a Feature to convert a .tib file into a .vmdk file (convert an acronis image into a vmware virtual drive) this did not work out well for me on the one and only image I needed. The converter just gave an "Error: invalid arguments." and stopped working. Is there some other utility to create a VMDK file maybe directly from a Partition?
     
  25. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.