continuously warning messages (Win 8)

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by Chalkor, Aug 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chalkor

    Chalkor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Germany
    Hello,
    I finally got ESS 6 to work with Win 8 properly but have one mysterious issue left.
    Windows is showing a popup warning, that sais, that Windows Defender and Eset Smart Security 6 are deactivated.
    This popup is just shown for a few milliseconds (had to take a video of the desktop for beeing able to read it) and appears in irregular intervals.
    Does anyone know how to solve this?

    Edit:
    Here's a short video of this popup:
    -http://img.subwaytogorbi.de/IMG_1295.MOV-
    Guess you can imagine that this is driving me crazy since I work on this notebook. for several hours a day.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 31, 2012
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Until resolved, disable that warning in Action center
     
  3. EnGenie

    EnGenie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    182
    Location:
    Hampshire, England
    I get exactly the same problem running ESS 5.2.9.1 on Windows 8 Pro (x64) RTM. I have pre-release updates enabled.
     
  4. Chalkor

    Chalkor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Germany
    Already tried that but unfortunately I can't. Whenever I disable it, it's been reactivated by Windows for some reason.
    This happens to warnings regarding the firewall, spyware and virus protection. All other messages can be disabled.
     
  5. catilley1092

    catilley1092 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Posts:
    19
    Same thing with me. There is a quick flash, not exactly in timing order, but it is continually going on. It happens with both ESET NOD32 & Smart Security 6 Beta/RC & Smart Security 5 (latest stable version).

    Evidently, ESET & other security apps aren't quite "Windows 8 Ready" yet. Note that ESET Smart Security 5 is my normal choice of Windows security, so this is a real issue for me.

    I have no confidence in Windows Defender, in the meantime, I'm running a trial version of Avast Pro AV 7, along with MBAM Pro (also installed on all of my computers). If this is not fixed soon, I'm grabbing a copy of Avast Pro AV for $9.99 here.

    http://store.downloadcrew.com/p27298-avast_pro_antivirus_7

    Good for 24 more days. I have to do something, if I continue to run Windows 8, even if I decide not to buy it, the license is still good to install elsewhere. Honestly, I'm not impressed with Windows 8 RP's features as much as I am with it's speed on a low spec PC.

    On my low spec HP MS214 AIO, it flies. On my MSI FX603-064US notebook, equipped with a i5 480M & running a Crucial M4 128GB SSD, no difference at all. Seems that Windows 8 is best suited for low spec computers, but this is beyond the scope of the forum.

    Just wanted to let the membership know that there's another affected by the issue, & I have reported it to ESET. Their response wasn't reassuring that it would be fixed by 10/26, but that they were diligently working on the issue. Not exactly what I wanted to hear.

    Cat
     
  6. EnGenie

    EnGenie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    182
    Location:
    Hampshire, England
    This error seems to have gone away in the last few days with ESS 6 on Windows 8 (x64) RTM.

    I guess that one of the new pre-release or release modules may have fixed this (e.g. Personal firewall module: 1092P (20120907), Antivirus and antispyware scanner module: 1367 (20120921) etc.)
     
  7. EnGenie

    EnGenie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    182
    Location:
    Hampshire, England
    I spoke too soon. The error is back again today. :(
     
  8. Parbold

    Parbold Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    :eek: ESET has posted a fix - just tried it now and it has worked for me (ESET SS 5, W8 Pro) it now :eek:

    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?pag...earch&viewlocale=en_US&searchid=1352109451209

    If Windows Security Center is not detecting your Windows ESET security product, please follow the steps below:

    Open a command prompt by clicking Start Run. Type cmd and click OK.

    In the command prompt window, type NET STOP WINMGMT /Y and press ENTER.

    Type REN %WINDIR%\SYSTEM32\WBEM\REPOSITORY REP.OLD and press ENTER.

    Type EXIT and press ENTER to close the window.

    Restart the system. Windows should start normally, but you may be prompted to restart the system once more to complete the changes caused by resetting the core repository. You may also need to restart once more if Windows Security Center still does not detect your ESET security product.
     
  9. Parbold

    Parbold Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I too spoke too soon, upon restart - the flickering message is back. ESET Tech Support have so far not been able to find me a fix.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.