Consoidation slow?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mihies, Jun 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mihies

    mihies Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,

    I have a full backup of ~300GB and an incremental one of ~5GB.
    Upon consolidation start it reports that it will take from 20hrs - 6 days.:blink: :blink: :blink:
    This is a SATAII 750GB disk fully dedicated to TI backups. And, no other operation is using the same disk at this time.
    I am not sure how much time it will take (since estimation is fluctuating) but it seems a rather long period of time. I need to make it less then a day since I am doing daily incremental backups.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    If it's really taking that long it's probably because it doesn't have enough room on the hard drive.

    As far as I know, when TI consolidates it has to incorporate the incremental/differential into the original full backup. This is a very large file in your case and is probably taking up close to half of the drive's capacity.

    Since your backups are so large, you may want to consider getting another large drive (500GB+) so you can alternate between them and not have to consolidate.
     
  3. mihies

    mihies Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Yeah, it is probably running out of space.:eek:
    It would be better if the consolidation wouldn't have to eat that much space though.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  5. mihies

    mihies Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Hi Marat,

    I'll check the exact disk space available and size of my backups. However, it is very expensive to have empty space for another full+incremental backup when consolidating.
    It could be done on original full backup file directly I presumeo_O?
     
  6. blockie

    blockie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    Does consolidation occur automatically or manually?
    It depends on disk space, huh?
    I wouild like to move my old, consolidated back ups to anoher folder so I can keep the for a couple of months.
    Right now I am running one full backup with 10 incementals. The full backup is only 17 GB and the incermentals are about 1200 MB.
    Billo_O o_O o_O
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.