Connectivity Problem With Avast 5.0.167

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by wtsinnc, Oct 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Hi;

    Is anyone else having an Internet connectivity problem with the latest build of Avast 5 (5.0.167) ?

    I have downloaded 5.0.167 three times and every time, I am unable to log on unless I first disable the Web Shield.
    Even with the Web Shield at it's default settings (as they are following the download/install), I cannot access the internet.

    I have tried using IE 7 and Firefox with and without Sandboxie, and no other real-time scanners are installed.

    Any idea as to what could be causing this ?
    Many thanks for any advice.
     
  2. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Have you reported this problem at the beta forum?
     
  3. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    No.
    This is the first (and so far only) place I've posted.

    I've never registered there, but I did search the Avast forums about an hour ago and found nothing related to this issue.

    BTW: I'm currently running XP Home SP-2.
     
  4. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Being a beta, the forum is probably the best avenue for a solution.
    I'm sure that Alwil would be interested in your problem. I'd register and report it.
     
  5. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    yes, post on avast beta forums, not here...
     
  6. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Thanks.

    I just found two posts on the Avast forums reporting the same problem, so at least I know it isn't just me experiencing this.

    I'm headed back there now.
     
  7. progress

    progress Guest

    I turned off the Web Shield too :doubt:
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    If you don't have intention to report bugs or you don't know the risks of using BETA software, i recommend that you stick with official version 4.8 till version 5.0 goes final. There are still known and unknown bugs that require attention.
     
  9. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    618
    Are you using a software firewall? If so, make sure the program AvastSvc.exe has access to the Internet.
     
  10. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    AvastSvc.exe has access; it makes no difference.

    I've reported the problem as well as another involving the disable SSL/TLS notification bug in the Avast forums.

    After five attempts to make this build work, I gave up and uninstalled 5.0.167 and will wait on fixes to those issues.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2009
  11. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    avast 5 is beta, so many problems coming in beta, im waiting the final
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Xandros, I am using it in 3 computers and have had basically no issues. On the one PC that is on all the time I am having issues with updating every 240 minutes but they are aware it is acting quirky. Other then that is is working great and the behavior shield is to be activated later this week I think. For free it really is nice. I am more interested in the suite in time though.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.