CONNECTING in Port Explorer window

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by wink, Jun 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wink

    wink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Posts:
    52
    Hi,

    Up until today I have been using PE1.620 alsongside Win2k SP3, NIS2003, NAV2003 etc.

    I thought I would check if there were any Updates to my programs and I saw PE1.700 was available, so ...

    I uninstalled the 1.620 version and rebooted, downloaded the new version and installed that, then rebooted again

    On restart the usual window appeared listing the connections that my pc makes and I quickly checked through to see if my settings had been kept (which they had) but I have noticed that instead of the usual LISTENING, ESTABLISHED and TIME_WAIT desciptions it seems top have replaced the ESTABLISHED state description with just CONNECTING o_O is this correct, to me this suggests that the connection has yet to be'established' and is therefore not yet complete.

    I have reinstalled PE 2x to see if it was something that when amiss during the first try but alas I still only get CONNECTING appear. It is clear that I have established the connections as I receive the data I request.

    Is this purely just a change in PE terminology or is there something wrong with the set-up?

    Thanks in Advance

    (a very confused) Wink
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Wink, Are you referring to the "Etablished or close/wait" under status as I am not sure what you are seeing?
    With Settings new set to 10 seconds & dead set to 10 seconds then clicking the Established tab & firing up IE switching the focus to PE as IE fires up you should see "established" under the status heading followed by close_wait before finally closing.
    If you can supply a screen shot of what you are seeing this would also help

    This is what I see:

    Thanks. Pilli
     

    Attached Files:

  3. wink

    wink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Posts:
    52
    Hi Philli,

    Yes I was referring to the Established under status column. Just to try and clear my garbled post up a little.

    Before moving to 1.700 from 1.620 I had the correct status shown for the connection my PC were making, ie. Listening, Established or Time_wait etc, since updating when I make a new connection the process appears in the PE list but its status freezes on CONNECTING even when its clear that the connection has been established and data is being exchanged.

    To unfreeze this situation I can maually show Netstat (of which I usually hide) and this seems to refresh the list correctly and the connected processes are then listed as ESTABLISHED but it does not do this automatically as it did in the previous revision I was using.

    I have auto-refresh activated and have tried just a manual refresh just in case the auto refresh is playing up but the only way I can get the list to show Established connection correctly is to turn on and off the netstat sockets.

    It is a strange problem and I hope my description is a little clearer.

    Wink
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hmm, Not sure why this is, You installed from 1.62 to 1.7 and there was a 1.68. I believe the a dcsws2.dll found in windows\system32 directory may not be the correct version(1.70) or possibly corrupted - Could you check it please mine is 28,160 bytes?
    There may also be a problem if you are running other programmes that use LSP - Not sure if that is correct name but DCS will be around soon & I am sure that they will have some better ideas. :D
     
  5. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Hi Wink, the problem lies in that Port Explorer now uses Netstat to receive the status and ticking "Hide Netstat Sockets" pretty much disables netstat from getting the status. This is a bug which will be fixed in the next version but it isn't something extremely major. I use netstat now because on Windows NT and 2K/Xp, etc, netstat has a somewhat more extensive status list and to be more closely related to the "netstat -an" display.

    -Jason-
     
  6. wink

    wink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Posts:
    52
    Hi, Philli / Jason,

    I have checked my dll file you mentioned Phil and it is the same size as you have mentioned, thanks for your replies and prompt assistance.

    I am glad in a way that it is a known issue as things like this tend to grate on my mind if their isn't an identified cause. It isn't a major problem as you say I will put up with a longer connection list while I wait for the update.

    Cheers,

    Wink
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.