Confusing (worrying) dialogue in 1.050

Discussion in 'Other Ghost Security Software' started by Clive T, Dec 31, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Clive T

    Clive T Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    189
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    I’ve just been playing with CS 1.050 and found a confusing dialogue.
    If I view a file from an archive and then close the archive I’m offered the option to securely delete the file from my system. In fact the file in the archive isn’t deleted but the temp file is. This worried me the first time I used it until I realised what was happening. Perhaps the dialogue needs rewording?
     
  2. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks for your input, I will try and find a better way of saying what it does. :)

    -Jason-
     
  3. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    I guess I don't really see a need for that dialog at all. IMHO, you should just display at that point in the process:

    "All CryptoSuite Temporary Files automatically deleted on exiting" and just automatically delete and exit. ;)
     
  4. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks Siliconman, when I think about it now I also see how it should just automatically start secure deleting. I guess the reason I didn't is so the user could select how many wipes they wanted done on the file, but if I just select a value like 5 (which in reality is 25 over-writes) then that should be decent enough for most people.

    -Jason-
     
  5. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    i agree with silliconman.

    But i would like to choose one time the number of pass and then tick a box
    "remember my settings".
    Other times it would be automatics.
    May be a way to come back to another settings would be in options ?

    I just noticed something else : when i create an archive, the defaut path isn't displayed in the whished path to create the archive as it has been suggest, hope it would be done in the next version :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.