Confused about how to use Chameleon!

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ratchet, Jun 17, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,912
    I run Malwarebytes Premium. I installed Chameleon, but there wasn't a FAQ file. It's in a folder named Windows. My first question is any issues if I rename the folder Chameleon? One of the files is has 13 tabs you are supposed to keep trying until on it executes. The critical question, however, is if some malware should lock the PC, how could/would I get to this folder/program? That being said, is it better to just keep it on thumb drive and could it be run from that? Thank you!
     
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,311
    Location:
    England
  3. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Chameleon is actually installed with Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.X and typically requires no separate installation. Because MBAM2 is most frequently installed in %ProgramFiles(x86)%, the Chameleon directory is usually %ProgramFiles(x86)%\Malwarebytes Anti-Malware\Chameleon and the Chameleon executables are normally in %ProgramFiles(x86)%\Malwarebytes Anti-Malware\Chameleon\Windows, and the Chameleon help file, chameleon.chm, is located there as well.

    Renaming the %ProgramFiles(x86)%\Malwarebytes Anti-Malware\Chameleon\Windows sub-directory would likely cause diagnostic test failures in locating the Chameleon executables for presence and hash verification.

    If, after normal installation of MBAM2, the user ticks "Enable self-protection module", in Advanced Settings, extraordinary renaming and relocation precautions are not necessary.

    HTH :)
     
  4. KeyPer4Life

    KeyPer4Life Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    974
    Chameleon is also installed in MBAM v.1.75

    If for example you clicked on the chameleon.chm file it should open the Malwarebytes Chameleon
    help page and you will see a bunch of Chameleon buttons to click on.
    Just click on the first button below and see if it runs. If it does a black DOS window appears
    Installs a driver, updates MBAM and starts killing known malicious processes. Then runs a scan
    to remove any found malware.

    NOTE: If the first button doesn't work, try the next one. If that one doesn't work, just keep
    trying until you find one that does.
     
  5. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    100% true. :thumb:

    Chameleon may also be independently downloaded.
     
  6. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,912
    Thank you "all" for this!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.