conflict ??

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by hartoch, Jan 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hartoch

    hartoch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    queensland australia
    adaware se, nod 32, spybot s & d , spyblaster < zone alarm free ,
    am having a almost continuous this page cannot be displayed ,often while i'm actually viewing the page in question , part of that keeps showing as an advert its a pain in the proverbial , never had the prob with microsoft firewall , nod 32 (fully updated ) ?? conflicting with zone alarm o_O

    Bazza
     
  2. Alwill

    Alwill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Have all 5 of these apps and they have never caused any trouble. Suggest that the cause of the problem you are experiencing most likely lies elsewhere.
     
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    What is the advert actually trying to sell you?

    Blackspear.
     
  4. hartoch

    hartoch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    queensland australia
    just the microsoft this page cannot be displayed is super imposed on the page i'm viewing it says i may not be connected tho the web a small portion of that page will obscure the topic its weird
    hope i explain this lucidly o_O Bazza
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hi !

    Have you tried to repair Winsock and reload IMON + reinstall ZoneAlarm ?

    NOD32 is not conflicting with ZoneAlarm . Generally ZoneAlarm is fine (and very good) firewall but have you tried another - Windows Firewall , Outpost , Comodo ...
     
  6. hartoch

    hartoch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    queensland australia
    thank you will try as suggested and post back the result o_O Bazza
     
  7. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    You are welcome !
     
  8. hartoch

    hartoch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    queensland australia
    have folowed your sugestions did a winsock repair no probs found ,
    repaired imon some settings were changed
    disconected from the web and add and removed firewall reinstalled za free
    so far things seem ok thank you HiTech-boy
     
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Thanks for letting me know , hartoch :)
     
  10. hartoch

    hartoch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    queensland australia
    have a screenshot of the insert but dont know how to paste it here
    bazza o_O
     
  11. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
  12. hartoch

    hartoch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    queensland australia
    i have a screenhunter pic but cant seem to get the attachement on this page am not very puter litterate
    i do knw how to send pics via email , but this forum does not allow attachements Bazza :confused:
     
  13. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    If you click on the link that I posted above your last reply and read the instructions there, you will be able to do this.

    Cheers :D
     
  14. hartoch

    hartoch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    queensland australia
    my third try
     

    Attached Files:

  15. hartoch

    hartoch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    queensland australia
    as you can see on the right hand top is the message partly obscured that the page ccannot be displayed

    bazza :confused:
     
  16. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    That is an advertisement that changes each time one visits that Office page. Most if not all of the ads are being served via the below link as a result of the iframe entry.

    Are you aware of any Security\Privacy software....a Hosts file for example....that is preventing access to rad.msn.com and if you attempt to go to the below link....what is the result ?

    http://rad.msn.com/ADSAdClient31.dll?GetAd=&PG=OOLUS2&AP=1466

    Bubba

    **As a side note....MVPS host has 127.0.0.1 a.rad.msn.com #[ADSAdClient31.dll] contained in it's database if you are using that particular Hosts file.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2007
  17. hartoch

    hartoch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    queensland australia
    thanks Bubba i tried that link and all that popped up is that tiny frame,guess i'll remove that host program

    once again thank you , Bazza :confused:
     
  18. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Just a thought. I do not recall if ZA free has add blocking ability that might have been inadvertently enabled or not. Just a shot in the dark. :rolleyes:
     
  19. hartoch

    hartoch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    queensland australia
    just checked cant find an add blocker in my ZA free ,

    thanks Thunder , Bazza o_O
     
  20. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Possibly the free version does not have Ad blocking but even if it did you would have different results if that was the only protection used. The above result you are showing in your pic means it did not reach the site.

    The Ad blocking in Zone Alarm restricts the action by blocking the script which means you would not have seen anything where the ad would be versus what you saw which was it did not even connect to that server.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.