Conflict with Port Explorer?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Dazed_and_Confused, Aug 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    See this post. Any idea what this message means?
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    Disable automatic detection of changes in network settings in IMON's setup. Maybe you'll need to install NOD32 first and Port Explorer then, or vice-versa. The problem is that both IMON and Port Explorer work on Winsock level so each provider attempts to get at the top of LSP, unless the aforemtioned option is disabled.
     
  3. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    Marcos - IMON will not start. Will running WinsockXPfix fix the problem?
     
  4. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA

    Apparently not. While it did allow me to load and start IMON, the file scanned count remains at 0, even after heavy internet use.

    Do I have to completely reinstall NOD?

    Is there a way to determine if IMON is functioning properly
     
  5. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,044
    Daisey,

    I just received port explorer :D from DCS due to the discontinuation of TDS3 :oops: . If you can figure out the problem, please post a solution in this thread as I love NOD and I am not going to install Port Explorer if this will cause any problems with Nod.

    Anybody else running both progs o_O willing to share the experience?
     
  6. Henning

    Henning Guest

  7. JimF

    JimF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    Allentown, PA USA
    You install Port Explorer first, and then install NOD32. It solves the problem.
     
  8. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,044
    Thanks JimF but as Nod32 is working perfectly well on my pc, I don't think I want to uninstall the program being a critical component, install a new program that I haven't even tested yet and don't know if it is working properly. Even if Nod after reinstallation is working fine (with or without PE), that's a lot of work to test a program based on too many assumptions. :(
     
  9. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    I ran WinsockXPfix, and it fixed the problem. Marcos was correct. Either install PE FIRST, or if you install it after NOD, uncheck the "Disable automatic detection of changes in network settings" box in IMON's setup before installint PE.

    Now I wonder what purpose the "Disable automatic detection of changes in network settings in IMON's setup" feature serves? Except to patially disable one's PC? :doubt:
     
  10. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    I've always installed PE last, and never had a problem, although it does make sense. It seems as though unloading IMON (not just taking the check out of the box, but clicking but button below) removes the LSP, however, so I would think that would be enough. I know it gave the alert that the network settings changed, but it always fixed itself without any problems.
     
  11. Henning

    Henning Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Cologne
    Now i made it. :)

    As mentioned above, first i have installed Port Explorer and then NOD32. Works fine!
     
  12. scootnod

    scootnod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Posts:
    31
    So can you recheck 'Automatically detect changes in network configuration and repair necessary settings' after you install Port Explorer? This is assuming you already have Nod32 installed first.
     
  13. Henning

    Henning Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Cologne
    When i install NOD32 first and then PE, the changes that PE made will be resetted/reverted after an automatic or manual repair of the network settings (checkbox on / repair button).

    Im not sure, but i assume, thats a wanted (?) behaviour to prevent changes from a "malicious" program.

    --
    Sorry, my english sucks...
     
  14. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    I did.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.