Conflict w/ OA firewall and Winpatrol??

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by nomarjr3, Apr 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    Hi. I'm using NOD32 v3, OA firewall and Winpatrol for on-access protection.
    I've noticed that after installing and running all these programs at the same time, my 'dummy' PC (an old Celeron M 1.4GHz w/ only 384MB RAM) slows down significantly.

    Could it be because of the overlapping HIPS of OA firewall and NOD32? BTW does NOD32 have HIPS?
     
  2. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    NOD32 currently does not support HIPS; but let's really hope they will implement such feature.

    I think you have too many realtime-scanners running at the same time. Try having only NOD32's realtime-scanner active and have the other scanners stopped. Use them for on-demand scans instead.
     
  3. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    I don't think it's a smart idea to stop OA firewall. I mean, it's a firewall. Firewalls are supposed to run real-time to prevent intrusion.
     
  4. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    I know nothing about the OA firewall but I run Nod32 v3 and WinPatrol on 3 PCs and I have no issues/slowdowns at all...
     
  5. kaiyote

    kaiyote Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Nomar,

    I am running into the same issue with OA & NOD32 v3 not playing well together. There shouldn't be much of a conflict between the two IMO - but then, I'm no expert.

    I don't believe your WinPatrol is part of the problem, since the only security software I'm currently running is the OA Firewall coupled with NOD32 for anti-virus. HAN isn't having issues either, and he's not running OA.

    I've been using Process Explorer to view system usage, and NOD32 is definately the one having difficulty - ekrn.exe has 4+ minutes of CPU time logged from its startup...

    More details as I figure things out...
     
  6. Gene Benson

    Gene Benson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Posts:
    26
    nomarjr3,

    I've been using Nod32 v3 and OA for a long time without problems. Don't use WinPatrol. One thing you might try is un-checking Web Shield in OA and see if that helps. There could be an issue with both Nod and OA trying to scan internet traffic.
     
  7. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    kaiyote,

    The same issue happened to me. I ended up uninstalling OA firewall and finding out a suitable FREE replacement firewall.

    I downloaded Outpost Free, Sunbelt Kerio Free, and Sygate Free.
    The first two programs failed to install on my 'dummy' PC.
    I ended up having Sygate Free. It's pretty decent firewall, though it's not leakproof like OA.

    BTW I'm using OA firewall on my main PC together w/ NOD32. The lag is not much noticable since it uses a better processor and more RAM.
    But it crippled my 'dummy' PC, which means running both programs in an old PC is not recommended.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.