Configuring Private Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by sg09, May 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Can anyone help me in configuring Private Firewall?
    By default PF only alerts me when I execute something. but never alert me when it tries to connect to internet after being allowed to execute...
     
  2. chinook9

    chinook9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    439
    I can't help you with configuring PrivateFirewall, but if you have just installed it, I believe it defaults to 7 days in Learning Mode. If I am correct, this would explain the lack of alerts.
     
  3. Haven't seen that myself...

    My advice: turn app monitor to high, leave new process detection on. Pf is bad at protecting the registry so the only way you'll intercept a lot of malware is to block its execution in the first place.

    Also there's this whole thing with digital signatures, which strikes me as a bit fishy. I'll start a separate thread on that I think.
     
  4. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Training period is over... All the settings are set to high but still pf asks only when new executable launches, not when they connect to internet.
     
  5. timcan

    timcan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    USA
    Hi, can you give an example?
    This is my experience with pfw.:)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Oops I am not getting this type of pop-ups. Ok I will add some screenshots. btw, I am using Vista 32bit.
     
  7. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Thanks I have found the reason why I was not getting that info.
    See here

    PF.jpg
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.