Configs for new vista firewall ?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by controler, Jan 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. controler

    controler Guest

    it appears the Vista Firewall is rule based firewall now. You control what programs can connect in or out and add as you like.
    Has anyone seen any configs for the new vista firewall yet? If so, point me to the like please?

    Thanks

    controler
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  3. hiro

    hiro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Posts:
    77
  4. controler

    controler Guest

    Sweet Thanks

    Now what do the naysayers have to say about the Windows Firewall?

    If you can control both inbound and outbound and it is tied to the OS , what more do you need?

    controler
     
  5. hiro

    hiro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Posts:
    77
    Nothing !!!
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    its good to see the Windows Firewall improved, but ill stay with a third party firewall thank you very much.
     
  7. hiro

    hiro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Posts:
    77
    it depends, for normall surfer is enough with sufficiency
    only remained firewall to trust, open, is:

    1. Jetico
    2. Look'n'Stop
    3. Kerio 2.15
    4. Sygate

    All other ones are of the group "Security With Obscurity"
     
  8. controler

    controler Guest

    Yes I can see those that do not want to tweak their firewall staying with third party indeed, but now that you have a firewall that can be tweaked and is at the kernel level within the OS why would you?

    controler
     
  9. hiro

    hiro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Posts:
    77
    I repeat, Nothing !!!
    if you want a best, is Jetico v2-beta for Vista, or wait final.
     
  10. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    Reliability, ability to handle a huge number of connections, lower latency, better and deeper packet inspection, configurability, the GUI(or lack there of for command line firewalls), etc.

    Cheers,

    Alphalutra1
     
  11. hiro

    hiro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Posts:
    77
    You can also use commands in the netsh advfirewall context to configure the Vista firewall from the command line.
     
  12. controler

    controler Guest

    Believe me , I have used them all.


    con
     
  13. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,
    I don't think the Vista firewall is the problem. I think no one should run Vista...
    Mrk
     
  14. hiro

    hiro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Posts:
    77
    Hi Mrk..

    I know this is not the most appropriate section, but hopefully (here is where members are looking for Vista)

    After testing Vista for the past week, Vista has a few more bells and whistles but nothing more in my opinion. I see in Vista is the lack of available drivers and compatible software.

    The most irritating problem in Vista is Microsoft's perception of ALL computer users as being completely incompetent and incapable of managing their machines. Oh, and did I say Microsoft dumped the new file system due to development delays.

    Since 99% of the members in this forum are computer literate; you will find the same OLD Windows BS far exceeds the benefits.

    BUT IT IS SHINNY! THE CROWS CAN NOT RESIST!
     
  15. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,778
    Location:
    Texas
    Let's get back on topic.
     
  16. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,
    Sorry, ron, didn't mean to sidetrack the topic...
    Mrk
     
  17. controler

    controler Guest

    Thank you

    And so you are all telling me you have actualy tried configuring the new Vista Firewall?

    Found here: http://technet2.microsoft.com/Windo...c32b-4cbd-ae2a-8e77f2ced35c1033.mspx?mfr=true

    OR has anyone written any importable rules yet is what my original question would be.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 6, 2007
  18. hiro

    hiro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Posts:
    77
    Hi, cont..

    1. Install vista in "Administrative" mode to make it a lot less irritating to use.

    2. Disable all not needed services

    3. Now you are ready to config vista firewall
     
  19. controler

    controler Guest

    Thanks hiro

    Yup I know about services. I was mainly looking for someone that had created some great importable rules though. I don't have time right now since i am having colon surgery the 11th and not looking forward to it at all.

    looking for rules created for Windoes Firewall with advanced security.Not the standard preset rules.

    Thanks again.

    controler
     
  20. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    hi, i thought a third party FW will be fine with the 32-bit versions, but all Vista 64-bit versions won't allow kernel hooks, so it would be best to use the built-in FW in Vista-64.

    is that correct? thanks :)
     
  21. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    firewalls need to be updated for vista due its security and features and whatnot.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2007
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.