Computer Problems Caused By Windows Update?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by LenC, Nov 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I have three computers at home - with XP home installed on all of them. I was away for a few days - came back, and all three computers refuse to bootup. I can boot up in safe mode only.

    The only thing I did last week (common to all three computers) was to accept MS updates). Could that have caused this?
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    I haven't heard of any problems with the latest Microsoft updates when using XP. Anything is possible I suppose.

    You can try some of the tips listed here.
     
  3. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    did you run antivirrus,malwarebytes gmer, in safe mode.?
     
  4. ePost

    ePost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    105
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2009
  5. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I will do that now. Thank you.
     
  6. ePost

    ePost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    105
    If this is spilling over from one computer to the others you'll need to pull some plugs. They can't stay connected to your home network when you scan.
     
  7. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    If it boots-up in safe mode then it just a matter of finding what program it is thats causing the boot-up problem have you ever used msconfig to diagnose a start-up problem. I have two computers with windows Xp Sp3, but only on was updated and I don't have a boot-up problem.
     
  8. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I believe the problem was Returnil. I recently upgraded to Returnil 2010 on all three computers. I'm suspecting Returnil because I was getting an error message about the RPC server being unavailable (or something like that) on two of them.

    In any case, I restored old images (containing Returnil 200:cool: and will now remove Returnil entirely. It hasn't been all that helpful to me anyway.

    Thanks everyone. Hopefully everything will work properly now.
     
  9. Keyboard_Commando

    Keyboard_Commando Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Posts:
    690
  10. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Good information - thank you. It created big problems for me. It wouldn't allow me to uninstall in safe mode, so I had to restore old images that I happened to have from before the Returnil installation. Pain in the neck - all for a program that I wasn't really using.

    Good bye Returnil
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.