Complete Disk Image is HUGE! Please help.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by knight1fox3, Mar 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. knight1fox3

knight1fox3 Registered Member

Hello,

I am pretty new to ATI 2009, but I seem to be having a disk image problem. I used the bootable disk (since I have ATI installed on my desktop PC) to make a disk image of the hard drive (120GB 7200RPM) on my laptop (Dell Latitude D630, Core2Duo, 2 GB RAM, WinXP SP3). I used my NAS as the destination drive. With ATI booted up, I selected the "Create image of entire disk or partition" option. In the options, I also selected the maximum amount of compression. So of the 120GB hard drive, I am using approx. 15GB. Well the image created took forever (+6 hours) and ended up being a whopping 100GB! A message appeared indicating the task had completed successfully. Note, the sector by sector option was NOT checked. Am I doing something wrong? Why was the file so huge when I'm only using about 15GB on the drive? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

2. jmk94903

jmk94903 Registered Member

With only 15 GB used on the drive, the image should be 9-12 GB roughly. So something is definitely wrong.

If there are errors on the drive, TI may default to the sector by sector backup. This might also happen if the Linux drivers of the Rescue CD are a bad match to the disk controller on the computer.

Run CHKDSK d: /R on the drive (where d: is the drive letter) to be sure there are no errors. Then run the Accessory/System Tools DiskCleanUp to get rid of any junk. Finally, defragment the drive with the Defragmenter tool in the same place.

Delete the huge backup and repeat the backup Wizard. Double check that you are selecting the drive you want and that you are selecting Normal or higher compression.

3. knight1fox3