Comodo3 Firewall Questions

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by TheKid7, Jun 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    I am thinking about installing Comodo3 on all of my PC's. Currently, I am only using the Windows XP Firewall. I am a little "up-tight" about installing with the Defense+. I am considering selecting the Firewall with Leak Protection.

    Questions:

    1. If I want to enable Defense+ later, is it possible to enable it without uninstalling/reinstalling?

    2. I thought that I read somewhere that you should not select the installation of the Comodo Surf Safe Toolbar. Is it recommended not to select it and why?

    3. If I only have Comodo3 Firewall with Leak Protection, would a HIPS such as Threatfire work OK with Comodo3? I currently do not use ThreatFire but am thinking about adding it later.

    Thank you.

    P.S.: The reason that I am "up-tight" about installing Defense+ is that I installed Comodo3 (with Defense+) on one of my PC's shortly after Comodo3 was released from Beta. The PC slowed to a crawl and appeared to lock-up. After about 45 minutes I gave up and did a restore to last known good configuration.
     
  2. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    I've used Comodo 3, currently using 2.4. Had #3 installed in both its "Firewall with leak protection" mode, and full D+ mode.
    1) Yes. It's a simple toggle-switch setting change.
    2) Up to you. Personally I hate toolbars, and won't have them on the computer. But developers have to eat. Comodo makes some money from search referrals. Installation is totally optional, and easy to opt out of.
    3) Threatfire appears to work well with anything else I've used. (Including Comodo.) It's very problem free.

    Re "PS", the more recent versions of CFP 3 series are a lot better in this regard. D+ is much less talkative/low maintenance; the application has a low footprint. Even the early version didn't freeze my PC up, though I had read about some doing that. What other security do you/had you had at that point?
    You will find that with "Leaktest protection" mode (Rather than full D+) there is little difference to the nature of the alerts..maybe a few less without D+. There is some limited HIPS functionality invoked to pass leaktests.
     
  3. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    At the time of the "Freeze-up" when I installed Comodo3 (1 PC):

    Resident:
    McAfee VirusScan Enterprise 8.0i
    Microsoft WindowsDefender
    Windows XP Firewall

    On Demand:
    AVG AntiSpyware
    Spybot S&D
    a2free
    Ad-Aware 2007

    SpywareBlaster

    My current setup is:

    Resident:
    NOD32 2.7x (2 PC's), NOD32 3.0.x (1 PC)
    Microsoft Windows Defender
    Windows XP Firewall

    On Demand:
    AVG AntiSpyware
    Spybot S&D
    a2free
    Ad-Aware 2007
    SuperAntiSpyware Free

    SpywareBlaster
     
  4. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    TheKid7,

    You cannot be leakproof without D+.

    D+ and ThreatFire - one too many.
     
  5. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
  6. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    The only value of the toolbar is that it handles buffer overflows. If you install Threatfire, you don't need the toolbar because TF also handles buffer overflows. Another alternative to the toolbar is Comodo Memory Firewall -- it also handles buffer overflows.

    In any event, the toolbar is an ugly piece of nonsense IMO.
     
  7. bamaman66

    bamaman66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Posts:
    366
    I have tried comodo in the past and gave up because I thought it was not user friendly. I am considering trying it again. If I run it without making any new rules or other changes will it be safe?
     
  8. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Hi

    I thought Kees1958 said that Comodo Memory Firewall (so I guess the toolbar as well) protects against more types of buffer overflow than ThreatFire.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.