Comodo shows constant Antivir traffic - Normal?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by yeow, Dec 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yeow

    yeow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    225
    Hi, i have Comodo firewall installed & everything appears to be working fine.

    But i would like to check with people here if the constant Antivir "traffic" i'm getting is normal?

    clipboard01xr4.gif

    Above screenshot is after 1-2 mins upon pc startup - avgnt.exe & avguard.exe together seem to generate abt 1 MB of "traffic" per minute, and this volume can rise to very high MB levels even with seemingly no active windows open.

    Could this simply be normal behaviour for all antivirus resident guards?

    Thanks,
    yeow
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2006
  2. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    My guess is the shields
     
  3. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi yeow,
    This is localhost traffic between the various processes of Antivir. (If I remember correctly, there is also an hidden Antivir process that sends a lot of localhost traffic to avguard)
     
  4. yeow

    yeow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    225
    Thank you cheater87 & Stem,

    May I ask if your antivirus' resident guards show similar "traffic", or just for avira antivir7 ?

    Thanks,
    yeow
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2006
  5. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Heres what outpost tells me about antivir.
     

    Attached Files:

    • av2.JPG
      av2.JPG
      File size:
      46.8 KB
      Views:
      2
  6. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    Antivir uses loopback to ensure communication between its modules.

    Nothing suspicious, and everything is working as it is supposed to.

    Cheers,

    Alphalutra1
     
  7. yeow

    yeow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    225
    Thank you farmerlee & Alphalutra1 for the feedback.

    Oh I'm not suspicious of it or anything, since I trust the trusted & proven security apps.

    Only curious that the AV resident guard seems so "busy" when there's little or no activity going on.

    Thanks all,
    yeow
     
  8. [DSLR]poppster

    [DSLR]poppster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    The Midwest
    I have antivir and comodo, and I see the exact same thing as you do, no need to worry!

    :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.