COMODO Question

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by TheMozart, May 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Just installed the latest COMODO Firewall.

    Am I OK with these settings?

    1. Firewall Security Level = Safe Mode.

    2. Defense + Security Level = Safe Mode.

    3. Sandbox Security Level = Disabled.

    I cannot have Sandbox Enabled because for some reason when it's enabled it runs Battlefield 2142 as Sandbox and crashes the game!

    Are those settings enough to keep me secure?
     
  2. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Yes this is recommended level. If you want to be tortured with more pop-ups select paranoid mode for defence plus :p.
    Comodo Sandbox is rubbish, use Sandboxie or go to sandbox settings and add Battlefield 2142 to exclusion.
     
  3. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Thunderbird loaded normal.. but now COMODO asking me AGAIN to allow it.

    Why does COMODO seem to "forget" certain programs?

    Also I found it interesting that COMODO didn't turn off Vista Firewall during installation. I just realised and noticed that I had 2 Firewalls turned on... Vista + COMODO. Why is that?
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2010
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    possibly because Comodo is of the opinion that the 2 do not conflict (and they don't as far as I'm concerned)
     
  5. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    You might want to remove the global firewall rule 'allow all outbound' connections also.
    Version 4.1 is due at the end of this week which should address many of the sandbox issues.
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2010
  6. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    For then disable the Sandbox, and please turn off Windows Firewall.
     
  7. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe

    Sorry, but I disagree :cool: . To be " paranoid " is the only mode to keep the own system safe today. :D ( And the " only one " mode to use an HIPS ).
     
  8. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    .
    Can't say why the Windows Firewall is not automatically turned off when installing Comodo FW, but go ahead and turn it off yourself.

    Microsoft says:

    "two or more firewalls running at the same time can conflict with each other".
     
  9. Leach

    Leach Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    84
    CIS's inability to disable windows firewall is just a bug. The CIS's devs may be good at leaks but very weak at other OS stuff. The one is they just can't make it work it for a long time. The other is an awkward GUI and so on
     
  10. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I only use one Thunderbird. But everytime I load windows, COMODO keeps asking me permission to allow Thunderbird. Why? It doesn't remember I have ALLOWED it before. It's been about 5 times now it keeps asking me to ALLOW Thunderbird.. bug?

    ALSO same thing with a couple of services... I have told COMODO to ALLOW them. But everytime I reboot Vista, COMODO asks me if I want to allow them.

    It seems COMODO "forgets" that I have allowed it before!! What is solution as this is annoying?

    UPDATE: I AM REMOVING COMODO!!! This morning its asking me to allow another 3 programs that I have ALREADY ALLOWED!!

    I think I know why.... COMODO is confused..... I run programs from a TrueCrypt partition and it seems COMODO for some reason has a bug rememering programs running from a truecrypt travellers partition.

    Goodbye COMODO...too buggy for me :(

    What's the next best firewall alternative please?
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2010
  11. Leach

    Leach Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Posts:
    84
    You could try Online Armor free or ZoneAlarm free here.
     
  12. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    It's probably because you have CIS sets up in Proactive mode.


    Thanks.
     
  13. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486

    Cheers big ears :)

    Zone Alarm free seems good.

    How's that compare with others in tests?

    Is there a reliable website that shows firewall comparisons to help me decide which firewall I want to use?

    Too bad COMODO gets confused with TrueCrypt partitions. When I load Vista and the Vista Dekstop finishes loading, COMOD must obviously believe that's the end of the story and updates itself. But then when I mount my TrueCrypt partition, COMODO thinks I am running all new programs and keeps asking for permissions to allow them or not!

    As you can imagine...gets very tedious and annoying having to allow heaps of the same programs every single time I load Vista :(
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2010
  14. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    No it wasn't.
     
  15. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975

    You were checking the "Remember my Answer" checkbox, right?

    Did you try Learning Mode?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.