COMODO Internet Security/Antivirus/Firewall 8.0.0.4337 is released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by IvoShoen, Nov 17, 2014.

  1. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    comodo made things worse with the new version 8. Unlike version 7 if you use sandboxed browser and download anything, version 8 does not allow to move the file out of sandbox and will not allow access to it outside VR or sandbox. This is a BAD MOVE.

    in version 7 I could go to C drive and then Virtual sandbox comodo folder and to download and move any files out of it to desktop or atleast see it. Now in version 8 I see no way to access any files inside sandbox from outside of sandbox unless adding the download folder or the folder where download go to the 'do not virtualize access to'. Then i will be able to access the download and move it around outside sandbox VR. But this means that that folder is not protected anymore unlike version 7 and emptying the sandbox will not delete the content once the folder is excluded.

    So i think comodo should bring back the old version 7 style access back.
     
  2. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
    There is only one thing comodo has changed about the sandbox file system. They have added %userprofile%\downloads to the exclusions along with the shared space. If you run your browser in the sandbox and download a file to the downloads folder it will be on your real system. If you download a file to the desktop (or any other folder besides downloads or the shared space) you will have to go to C:\VTRoot\HarddiskVolume2\Users\<user>\Desktop to access the file. If you remove the downloads folder from the sandbox exclusions it will work exactly the same as v7.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    Comodo responded to my post and told me to unhide folders in windows and I had forgot to unhide them in the vm. So I will retest CIS with unhide option to see if I cna see VTroot.
     
  4. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
    That would do it. Let us know if that was the cause of the problem
     
  5. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    yes unhiding did it. now the VTroot is visible in the C drive. So all is good.
     
  6. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    267
    Dragon not updated for a loooong time now...
     
  7. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    @jasonbourne
    Yeah i know.
    Also not great ethics to bundle an outdated browser with a security suite :thumbd:
     
  8. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    the strange thing with CIS 8 is that when I ran all the browsers, incl. comodo's own browsers gave popup warning by CIS and had to add to trusted list to be allowed to open. This happened while other applications opened without any warnings from comodo.
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,557
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    This kinda stuff is exactly why I never liked Comodo, they should have fine tuned it a lot more. And having to trust the browser is the dumbest thing you can do.
     
  10. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    but thats nothing as I love virtual kiosk and use it without worries of getting infected ever. I browse a lot of site incl. questionable sites and this gives puts my mind at ease. I have never ever got infected using comodo over the years, while other security solutions have failed at time.

    So its small thing to have to trust the browser compared to the great protection of comodos VR. Now since version 8 can use the pc' own virtual hardware like intel VR, now my new pc comodo is using my pc's intel VR hardware to protect even more.
     
  11. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,557
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    @ taleblou

    That's cool to hear, virtualization and isolation are indeed powerful protection methods.
     
  12. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,088
    Location:
    USA
    I didn't need to trust any browsers in either v7 or v8.
     
  13. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,557
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes but taleblou did. Of course I don't know the details, but fact is that Comodo act strangely, which resulted in user confusion. When I used it months ago, I also had to trust quite a lot, just to make it shut up. If you want to silence your HIPS, it's never a good sign.
     
  14. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    What about net speed being slowed down? I used v7 fw and it slowed my browsing speed and I have 120mb download.
     
  15. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
    I did see one user report a bug about slow internet speeds with certain options enabled in the firewall (dont remember which) and they reported its fixed in v8. I havent experienced any type of slow downs with my internet connection.
     
  16. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    Good to know, I might give it a try again. thanks
     
  17. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    V8 is killing my Chrome connection sandboxed. But IE and Waterfox runs fine..
     
  18. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,088
    Location:
    USA
    My point is because we don't know the details we really have no idea what caused the problem. Just saying that the software is buggy doesn't help anyone. The software is complex and it could be a configuration/setting that caused the problem and not a bug. If you engaged in some troubleshooting you might be able to reproduce it.
     
  19. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    maybe because CIS 8 on my new machine runs in hypervisor level mode because of my pc virtualization hardware and maybe thats why it is asking for trusting browsers and some other well known apps. That is my guess. By the way I installed comodo dragon today and still comodo asked for me to trust it via warning.

    Do not know and the folks in comodo forum have not replied to my questions on this.
     
  20. stephentony

    stephentony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    USA
    Cruelsister, I just installed CFW 8.0 on a pristine copy of Windows 7 64 bit with no other security software installed. I was running version 7.0 with no problems. Anyway, the install went okay but when I activated Proactive Security and rebooted, I was greeted with a big fat BSOD. Have you heard of this happening or has it happened to you? Any thoughts? You know I trust no one more than you when it comes to superior computer security knowledge, but especially when it comes to all things Comodo. Above all you are unfailing clear eyed in your objectivity so I know you won't hold back if there is an issue you feel is significant. Translation: Don't sugar coat it, sister! Give it to me straight. I can take it. I'll never be able to install it again, right? I knew it. I'm doomed! I guess I have no choice but to go back to Ashampoo Firewall. That's right, I said it.:eek:
     
  21. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,088
    Location:
    USA
    Did you view the dump file?
     
  22. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,088
    Location:
    USA
    Is "create rules for safe applications" checked in HIPS Settings?
     
  23. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
  24. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,053
    I think it has become boringly repetitive for some to post the same , getting banned on Comodo forum, issue every time a new version is launched.......without ever using the current edition.....

    Comodo has been a very good free alternative for some time now, and i think we should see it for that.
     
  25. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    No it was not checked. So should I check it?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.