COMODO Internet Security 6.3.297838.2953 Released!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Solarlynx, Oct 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,913
    Announcement at Comodo forum:

    Hello Everyone,

    We have just release COMODO Internet Security/Firewall/Antivirus 6.3.297838.2953!

    What's new in this 6.3 build?

    FIXED: Diagnostic doesn't start when upgrading from Windows 8.0 to Windows 8.1

    Download Locations:

    COMODO Internet Security

    xttp://download.comodo.com/cis/download/installs/2000/standalone/cispremium_installer.exe

    Size: 191M ( 199389360 )
    MD5: 3734bd7076221f575c4390a38165919d
    SHA1: 77788692f771157a3ac31363d716d12c7077adee


    COMODO Firewall

    xttp://download.comodo.com/cis/download/installs/2000/standalone/cfw_installer.exe

    Size: 191M ( 199389360 )
    MD5: df0f59238e6a6c49ef4006565ceef094
    SHA1: a541176f4b3f37af34f85afad922cb9e606f01c8

    COMODO Antivirus

    xttp://download.comodo.com/cis/download/installs/2000/standalone/cav_installer.exe

    Size: 191M ( 199389360 )
    MD5: 838b72375a8dc667174f51f7d1805182
    SHA1: 1aacca22b21ebe8fde68ba83b8b8b6604b3c6963

    Updates & Upgrades

    6.x users can quickly update to the latest version by simply running their automatic updates.
    5.x users can download the upgrade package and run it to upgrade to 6.3: http://downloads.comodo.com/cis/download/installs/www/cis5upgrade/index.html
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 27, 2013
  2. spywar

    spywar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    Paris
    For those who will ask if there are no more bugs fixes in this release : this is just a hotfix.
     
  3. Cyrano2

    Cyrano2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Spain
    Just updated, everything working as it should.
     
  4. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,913
    and all other bugs stay where they should
     

    Attached Files:

  5. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    617
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    This update is of no use to me as all our machines will remain as Win 7.
    Hope the new version (CIS7/2014) is coming soon as wish to see this valkyrie bb in action.
     
  6. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,067
    Really? o_O
     
  7. spywar

    spywar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    Paris
    Have you read the changelog ? :rolleyes:
    edit: You are showing a minor GUI issue but you said "all other bugs"...
     
  8. minegroasprilla

    minegroasprilla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    caracas
    My friends, What solution has more features: Comodo Firewall or Online Armor Free?

    I need to choose one of them.
     
  9. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,067
    Both are pretty similar.
    Online Armor: FW+HIPS
    Comodo FW (No AV): FW+HIPS+CloudAV(only checks unknown (not in the whitelist) files on the cloud)+Sandbox and in a future a behavior blocker.

    Also Comodo is more actively develop.
     
  10. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Surely you dont need to download a further 191mb just for a "hotfix"
     
  11. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Upgrade through the GUI is app 25-30 MB.
     
  12. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,913
    actually its of value only for win 8.1
     
  13. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    25-30mb.
    Thats quite a large hotfix.
    it only applies for windows 8.
     
  14. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    It could be less, the update was quick.
     
  15. Pirate_fin

    Pirate_fin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    Finland
    Is Comodo Firewall good enough with default settings or should i change something to make it more effective (with minimal pop-ups)
     
  16. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,067
    By default is ok

    More info here
    http://www.techsupportalert.com/content/how-install-comodo-firewall.htm
    http://help.comodo.com/topic-72-1-451-4797-Appendix-1-CIS-How-to...-Tutorials.html
    http://help.comodo.com/topic-72-1-451-4871-Comodo-Preset-Configurations.html

    If you don't like default and If you don't want to read you can simply use the "COMODO - Proactive Security" settings template, for an improved protection but a few more popups. Explained in the last link
     
  17. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    I can't imagine anything getting by Chiron's settings!:thumb:
     
  18. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,166
    This version feels smoother on my system.
     
  19. Syobon

    Syobon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Posts:
    469
    i'm still waiting for the sane decision of allowing users NOT to install their sandbox.
     
  20. spywar

    spywar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Posts:
    583
    Location:
    Paris
    ....Can't you simply DISABLE it ? :rolleyes:
     
  21. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    Not me. I love the security of CIS, but it's just not as light as Webroot SecureAnywhere (which I actually paid for).

    Recent tests showed it right behind WRSA in lightness/performance, but my web browsing doesn't seem as fast, some pages take far longer but all are sluggish.

    Downloading files and torrents causes delays,sometimes several seconds. Moving files seems to take ages.

    This is on a clean install off 7 64bit home premium.

    System specs:
    i7 4770k @ 5.0Ghz
    32GB DDR3 PC1866
    GTX Titan gpu
    ASUS Rog maximus mobo
    SB Xfi Fatal1ty Pro
    Killer NIC
    Samsung 840Pro 256gb SSD

    Any ideas?
     
  22. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,913
    However I tried to fix sluggishness on one my laptop, though weaker then yours, I had to use another av instead of CIS. Now I use there Avast 9 and EMET 4.0.
     
  23. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    I find using either internet or firewall security makes comodo more peaceful to the computer.
     
  24. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    Let me try that, because I feel like it wasn't as sluggish before I switched it to "Proactive", but I didn't really use it but about an hour in the "Internet Security" mode.

    There's really no reason ANY firewall should make this computer sluggish, but it's so fast (and I am so OCD) that I can notice even the slightest slowdown.

    I have a paid copy of KIS and am only using one license out of 3, because they seem to sluggish. It is on my daughters computer though, but being that she is 7 I don't really care if it slows her down. She won't notice and I like Kaspersky Parental Controls.

    EDIT: I know I have read of people having issues with "Run the cache builder when the computer is idle", so I uncheck that box, but should I leave it checked?
     
  25. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    That made little to no difference. Web browsing seemed faster.

    I fired up the new Batman Arkham Origins and experienced several crippling slowdowns (i'm talking 1FPS slowdown).

    I alt-tabbed out, shut down Comodo...and it was fine.

    Back to Webroot for now, until I can find something with better protection and no impact on performance.

    Call me ignorant if you want, but I'd rather browse smart and be at more risk and have no slowdown. I can always reformat, don't really have any important data. I reformat and reinstall windows every few months anyway, feels sluggish and gets bloated.

    Severe OCD, yes.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.