COMODO Internet Security 4.0.141842.828 Released

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Brocke, Apr 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    just want to let everyone know a new release of CIS4 is out.

     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2010
  2. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    any information on this new release?
     
  3. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    ill post it when they do, nothing has been posted yet by egemen.
     
  4. 2good

    2good Guest

  5. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    http://remove-malware.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=54228#p54228
    "..
    We have just released COMODO Internet Security 4.0.141842.828. This is a maintenance release which addresses several previously reported bugs.

    The main reason for this release is the demand from our users for a standalone executable installer for the individual products.


    Whats new in 4.0.141842.828?

    NEW! Standalone installers in addition to the web based installer
    FIXED! ARP spoofing protection does not protect against certain attacks
    FIXED! Automatically sandboxed applications can modify existing protected files under certain conditions
    FIXED! Proxy authentication in updater settings does not work
    .."
     
  6. codylucas16

    codylucas16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    267
    Did they fix the compatibility mode issue in 64 bit yet?
     
  7. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    Which individual products can be installed?
     
  8. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    is this now version now fully protected now? or still flaws?
     
  9. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Wow :eek: Three "now" in one sentence :blink:
     
  10. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Are you bored?

    On topic, I wish I could get behind Comodo, but all I see is the same issues I've had for quite a few releases now. They're either overworked, sloppy, or just want to make as much as they can and don't really care how they do it. On a different test system, this "new" release is the same heap of trouble for me it was last release.
     
  11. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Houston - "We have a stalker"o_O
     
  12. Watasha

    Watasha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    233
    Location:
    United States
    What was your "heap of trouble"?
     
  13. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    The thing I'm wondering is what those "certain conditions" are. o_O What if this would pose a threat to the user's security? :eek:
     
  14. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    I don't understand what you mean. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
     
  15. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Then I'll try to explain, and hope that you were not joking. :D


    "FIXED! Automatically sandboxed applications can modify existing protected files under certain conditions"



    What are those certain conditions, and might that pose a security risk if it allows things to pass through that way?
     
  16. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    Thanks, I was not joking, simply I didn't read the words " certain conditions " in the first post.

    Anyway, I'm going to try for the first time CIS 4 now, but I'll disable the sandbox. Sorry, but I prefer to control by myself what CIS does; I keep my GesWall too. ;)





     
  17. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543

    Comodo not remembering answers even after being told to, knocking out Avast's ability to update (yes I made SURE Avast was allowed to do everything it needed in Comodo rules), pending files that would keep coming back after I went through them one by one, and incessant pop-ups (well, that basically boils down to Comodo not remembering answers). Unless something changed between this and the previous release, Comodo is not even as secure unless it is in its highest mode. And, with all those problems, I'm sure not going to run it in said mode.

    My OPINION is that Comodo has just gotten sloppy, because the firewall and D+ didn't have these issues back in version 3. Resources were slightly higher in usage, but I would take higher resources over a steaming pile of dog crap that is Comodo these days. Yes, that's harsh, but as I said, it's my opinion.
     
  18. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    Presumably it refers to the well-documented issues with certain rogues able to interract with the 'real' system.Mind you if,as stated this is now fixed it shouldn't be a problem anymore.

    It does still have that global firewall rule to 'Allow All Outbound',easy enough to get rid of but still a bad idea IMO.
     
  19. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Yep, it's like the option for the sandbox to allow signed/trusted apps.

    What makes me doubt it is that it indeed says so that it can, and not can NOT. That makes me believe it's more of a compatibility measure for actions that SUPPOSEDLY legit files will take.
     
  20. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Yes, of course you won't need the sandbox in that case. ;)
     
  21. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe

    I believe that it write " can " because it describes the previous bug that now is fixed. I see write so for the fixed bugs of other softwares.
     
  22. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Oh right :D - totally forgot the "FIXED" before the text. :p
     
  23. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    The sandbox still has some way to go before I'd even contemplate removing Sandboxie that's for sure.However the devs do seem to be listening to the user base on this so hopefully it'll offer much more comprehensive isolation/usability as it matures.
     
  24. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    As far as my own testing went, CIS stopped everything dead. Only thing that was semi problematic were rogue antiviruses/fake antiviruses, that got through in certain cases. I think they are addressing those with this update fix.
     
  25. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Def. sounds great to me. :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.