COMODO Internet Security 3.5.57173.439 released

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Fuzzfas, Dec 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    As "JimBell" says in the original announcement in Comodo's forum, "Hopefully this one is here to stay"


    32 bit XP & Vista:
    http://download.comodo.com/cis/download/setups/CIS_Setup_3.5.57173.439_XP_Vista_x32.exe

    64 bit XP & Vista:
    http://download.comodo.com/cis/download/setups/CIS_Setup_3.5.57173.439_XP_Vista_x64.exe

    http://forums.comodo.com/feedbackco...et_security_3557173439_released-t31139.0.html

    No release notes yet. And maybe Comodo should think of an easier way to tag their version numbers. :)
     
  2. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    Thanks Fuzzfas, I was waiting and asking about. ;)
     
  3. Hiker

    Hiker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Posts:
    268
    Got the auto update in CFP. No problem.
     
  4. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I made a clean install, no problems here either (only firewall).
     
  5. Hiker

    Hiker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Posts:
    268
    Do you have a start up manger? I looked at mine and I have CIS cfp.exe and CFP cpf.exe running but only one process cfp.exe running along with cmdagent.exe.

    I don't know when that started, I assume when I first auto updated when CIS came out but didn't included the AV. It's not causing any problems I'm aware of but it does seem odd.
     
  6. 3xist

    3xist Guest

    What is new?
    ======

    IMPROVED! Virus database updating
    FIXED! Defense+ does not prevent process access in memory
    FIXED! Defense+ does not properly protect some processes in Windows XP 64
    FIXED! Signed executables could not be recognized in 64 bit operating systems
    FIXED! AV updates does not work in Windows Vista under certain circumstances
    FIXED! Windows security center still reports CIS after uninstallation
    FIXED! Cmdagent.exe crashes while being uninstalled in Windows Vista/XP 64

    https://forums.comodo.com/feedbackc...rnet_security_3557173439_update-t31145.0.html
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Hi 3xist! I assume that we can import coniguration from older version. Am I true?

    Thanks
     
  8. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    On my registry cleaner's startup entries i only have cpf.exe.

    Running processes are cpf.exe and cmdagent.exe.

    Mind you that i didn't install the antivirus and made clean installation from scratch.
     
  9. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I think you can import configuration as long as it is from "CIS" versions.
     
  10. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,066
    Yes click on Miscellaneous and them Manage my configurations, them export....
     
  11. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I guess so, but it,s nice if they make it clear with every update release.
     
  12. tsec

    tsec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Posts:
    181
    Sweet. Installed no problems at all :)
     
  13. Hiker

    Hiker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Posts:
    268
    I didn't install the AV either. here's what I'm looking at. Since everything else appears nornal, I haven't tried unchecking one.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. 3xist

    3xist Guest

    Hey Hiker,

    Sorry I didn't see you're post at the Comodo Forum. Alot of people reported this, But what you can do is uncheck "COMODO Firewall Pro" one.
     
  15. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    @ Hiker

    Just in case, i installed your startup manager too, but i have only one entry.

    1.png
     
  16. Hiker

    Hiker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Posts:
    268
    OK, thanks. That's what I'll do. As I said before, I'm not aware of it causing any problems. Also, after unchecking is it safe to delete the entry?

    Added: I unchecked (using revo auto start tool) the CFP entry and got a pop up saying CFP would no longer start at start up and rebooted, however to the right of the unchecked entry it still shows as running along with CIS of course.

    Frankly I'm not all that worried.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 4, 2008
  17. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Me thinks you didn't gain anything :)
     
  18. 3xist

    3xist Guest

    Nothing to worry about, many people reported it. :)
     
  19. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Well, this version runs remarkably well for me. I was also happy to see there are no serious bug reports filed for the firewall till now. I think this version is a keeper for quite a while.
     
  20. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    I uninstalled Comodo version(3.0.25) because of this:
    http://i36.tinypic.com/29crp5e.png
    They managed to bypass diagnostics checks or a unknown bug, who knows.

    The latest 3.5.571... leaks in Internet Security vs anti-keylogger-test,
    good old Proactive Security recommended.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2008
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.