Comodo Internet Security 2020 Beta / Final Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mops21, Apr 22, 2020.

  1. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,324
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    Author Topic: Comodo Internet Security 2020 v12.2.2.7036 RC is now available

    https://forums.comodo.com/beta-corn...-v12227036-rc-is-now-available-t125514.0.html

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  2. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,324
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    Update Testing to Comodo Internet Security v12.2.2.7036 RC

    https://forums.comodo.com/beta-corn...internet-security-v12227036-rc-t125571.0.html

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  3. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,324
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    Comodo Internet Security 2020 v12.2.2.7036 Released.

    https://forums.comodo.com/news-anno...curity-2020-v12227036-released-t125668.0.html

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  4. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    VPN city
    An antivirus tester on youtube, going by the name "Computer Solutions" put out a video on august 31st of this year testing comodo against the usual kind of stuff. After an entire video showing comodo successfully killing every every threat it encountered. This tester on youtube said it failed. They even showed scan results from Malwarebytes and Emsisoft EK and even hitmanpro showing that the system was perfectly fine. (they also scanned with zemana, but zemana doesn't work anymore.) And after all four tools said the system was completely fine, Computer Solutions still said comodo failed.

    I thought they improved, because they started applying the same standards to every test, but they, along with many other people seem to have some issue with Comodo for some reason. Every other tester I've seen test comodo, always gives it a 100% successful score.

    A lot of antivirus test videos I see of comodo, I look in the comment sections and see that people are promoting bit defender and kaspersky and going on and on about how comodo isn't a good product (not the words they chose to use).

    Has any other comodo user experienced people off screen saying that comodo isn't good?
     
  5. lunarlander

    lunarlander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    266
    Why can't CIS contain MS Chromium Edge ? It is almost the same as Chrome ! Any auto-containment rule I try to create mentioning msedge gets the message that it affects the stability of the system. arrrg Now I have to use Chrome or Firefox to make use of Comodo's auto-containment.
     
  6. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,693
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I run Comodo firewall (again), version 6882. I know 2 other people who have Comodo. One has used it for years. Both swear by it, as do I. I've never had anything get past the firewall. In my case, Comodo properly set up (firewall and AV), is about as bulletproof as you any you can find. The antivirus, I don't know. Never used it.

    I'm running Win 8.1 Pro, and Edge Chrome runs fine in Comodo containment here (Cruelsister settings). No problems, though it is a bit slower. Also, Brave browser has no problems in the containment.
     
  7. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,064
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen
    The same for me. And I run Seven.
     
  8. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,184
    Location:
    Canada
    Assuming you want to run msedge.exe virtually, try this folder rule:

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft\Edge\*

    It should work.
     
  9. lunarlander

    lunarlander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    266
    Thanks a lot wat0114. that works.
     
  10. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,184
    Location:
    Canada
    No problem, glad it works for you.

    FWIW, in my case I don't run my browsers (Firefox, Edge, Chrome) in Windows 10 restricted. Instead I have several Auto-containment rules in place, including a couple for "Vulnerable folders". These folders are userspace and several others that allow files to be written to and potentially executed, especially ones that exploits like to target, so anything of unrecognized reputation and less than 2-3 days old within these folders are automatically blocked. Also I run Windows Defender and Smartscreen, both of which I find catch a lot of suspicious files, so that's additional protection along with CFW (I use free version 12.2.2.7036).

    Finally, what I discovered about running msedge restricted or virtualized was that I had to weaken its firewall rule from:

    Code:
     Allow Out, from Any IP, to Any IP, protocol TCP, to Remote ports set: 80, 443
    to:

    Code:
     Allow Out, from Any IP to Any IP, protocol UDP or TCP, to Remote ports Any
    otherwise Internet was blocked.
     
  11. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,614
    Out of curiosity, does CIS still allow choice of interface themes? Like in this pic from version 10:

    CIS_themes.png
     
  12. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,184
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes, under General Settings->User interface. There are five to choose from. Actually, I'm using the free CFW, so I would think CIS should provide that option.
     
  13. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,614
    Thanks :)
     
  14. lunarlander

    lunarlander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    266
    Hi Wat0114,

    I use SysInternals AccessChk to point out which folders have write and execute. Then I use Software Restriction Policy to block those folders. I have a small accesschk bat file, do you want it?
     
  15. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,184
    Location:
    Canada
    Sure, I'll take you up on the offer, thanks!

    I used Accesschk as well to find those folders, though not with a batch file.
     
  16. lunarlander

    lunarlander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    266
    here you go:

    accesschk -w -s -q -u Users "C:\Program Files"
    accesschk -w -s -q -u Users "C:\Program Files (x86)"
    accesschk -w -s -q -u Users "C:\Windows"
    accesschk -w -s -q -u Everyone "C:\Program Files"
    accesschk -w -s -q -u Everyone "C:\Program Files (x86)"
    accesschk -w -s -q -u Everyone "C:\Windows"
    accesschk -w -s -q -u "Authenticated Users" "C:\Program Files"
    accesschk -w -s -q -u "Authenticated Users" "C:\Program Files (x86)"
    accesschk -w -s -q -u "Authenticated Users" "C:\Windows"
    accesschk -w -s -q -u Interactive "C:\Program Files"
    accesschk -w -s -q -u Interactive "C:\Program Files (x86)"
    accesschk -w -s -q -u Interactive "C:\Windows"
     
  17. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,184
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you!
     
  18. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    VPN city
    No idea why they still don't allow that. Edge isn't a metro app anymore...thank god. For some reason, they don't let you do that with internet explorer anymore either.

    If you're looking to use comodo to protect your computer from your friends. Use the virtual desktop with a password protecting it instead and go into the protected data menu and add all of your personal files into that menu.
     
  19. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    274
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    There is no problem (at least on Windows 8.1 x64) to run MS Edge in the Containment. I had a problem to run Firefox in the Containment but it was due to klsihk64.dll used by Kaspersky. Now this is resolved since Kaspersky Security Cloud Free 21.2.16.590 doesn't seems to use klsihk64.dll anymore like the previous version.

    I think your best call would be to open a new topic in the Comodo support forum to let them know about the issue.
     
  20. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,324
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all

    Comodo Internet Security 2020 v12.2.2.7098 Released

    https://forums.comodo.com/news-anno...curity-2020-v12227098-released-t126694.0.html

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     
  21. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,064
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen
    I use version 12.0.0.68.18: anyone knows if I have to uninstall it before intsall the newer ?
     
  22. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,848
    Location:
    UK
  23. lunarlander

    lunarlander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    266
    I find the when I contain Edge, ( by saying \Edge\Application\*.exe ) I can't get online.
     
  24. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    719
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Hi,
    I am waiting for cruelsister/Megan to do update on Comodo Firewall setup 2021.
    Video/Review/Setup. Maybe she can explain and answer your question.
    "I find the when I contain Edge, ( by saying \Edge\Application\*.exe ) I can't get online."
    Or with Brave, ect.....
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2021
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.