Comodo forums = Google UK ?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Ocky, Mar 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2008
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England
  3. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Weird.
    If you add /index.php , it works.
    ?
     
  4. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    The link on their own site - also Google.
     
  5. ggf31416

    ggf31416 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    314
    Location:
    Uruguay
    The latest news in Comodo website are
    Quite ironic. :mad:
     
  6. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    works fine for me
     
  7. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    If you do a search, it will go to the forums, and display a 404 error on the bottom.
    Is this something they're building, like a google search for the forums? One thing i do know, search feature in the forum used to have problems.
     
  8. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,874
    Location:
    New England
    It appears that the google search page is in the index.html file in their webroot, as this link provides the same result.

    http://forums.comodo.com/index.html

    The forum is of course accessed via index.php in that directory. Their webserver may have index.html take precedence over index.php, which is a configuration option in the webserver software. If they switched it to default to index.php instead, then going to just http://forums.comodo.com/ would yield the forum, and not whatever their webmaster is probably working on in the index.html file.


    Edit - the following is a pure guess as to how something like this happens accidentally...

    You are the webmaster of a site. You are working on the server at the command line. You happen to change directory to the webroot. While working in there you decide to either browse around using something like lynx, or you do a wget to pull some file or files from somewhere. While doing this, you pull down a file called index.html, which since you are in your webroot, becomes visible to the world because of your webserver configuration options.

    My guess... the site is not hacked. The webmaster accidentally pulled down a foreign index.html file and didn't realize the effect it would have, having it located there. Solution - delete the file: index.html (or, if they had a previous index.html there that was overwritten by this, restore it).
     

    Attached Files:

  9. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England
  10. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,874
    Location:
    New England
    I'm not a member there, but please, anyone who is, feel free to let their folks know.
     
  11. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,874
    Location:
    New England
    It appears to have been fixed now.
     
  12. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Thank you for the insight LWM.
     
  13. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Yes, thanks LWM. (I see the problem has still not been remedied if
    one uses the usual url viz: http://forums.comodo.com/)
     
  14. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Must be a browser issue. Mine works fine in opera.
     
  15. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    No problem if I enter the IP address : http://85.91.228.149/
    otherwise no go on with IE, Opera, and FF from 3 different machines.
    Not to worry - thread can be closed. Comodo folks know about it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.