Comodo Firewall & uTorrent

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by jrmhng, Dec 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi All,

    I'm configuring Comodo to work with uTorrent and I can't seem to open up a port using the application rules.

    When I've got uTorrent listed as an application to allow all incoming on a particular port, incoming connections are not accepted for uTorrent.

    I have to create a global entry to allow incoming traffic on a particular port for uTorrent to work.

    Why is this the case? I much prefer to have that port closed and only opened dynamically when uTorrent is running.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers,
    Jeremy
     
  2. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Actually I've just figured out. FYI It is dynamically created. For a packet to pass through, it must pass through both global and application rules. So both application and global rules must allow it.
     
  3. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
  4. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    I would need to know first the reason why "Protocol Analysis" is an option, and to what this is actually doing?{within Comodo} (I have not installed/looked at the latest versions), but for this to have to be disabled would infer it being active by default.
    Disabling this for such as a need to use P2P, also puts any other active internet application without this filter. Are they saying that such is not actually needed for security? or just a fact that multi connections will slow down P2P apps with such Analysis? If so, then maybe an exclusion per application is needed, rather than such an open exclusion of (possible) protection.
     
  5. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    In Comodo 2.4 "Protocol Analysis" is enabled by default. I might be with 2.4 for a while as my impressions of 3.0 are not favorable.
     
  6. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Stem,

    Your remarks make sense, why not post them to the COmodo forum and see what the explanation is on this P2P work around.

    It sure looks akward, hey we have got this great feature enabled by default, when you want to use P2P why not de-select it for the complete system?
     
  7. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hello Kees1958,
    No thanks,
     
  8. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    I've tried running uTorrent with the Do Protocol Analysis option checked and it doesn't seem to have a major effect on firewall performance.

    It was downloading at

    uTorrent.jpg

    The memory and CPU usage according to Taskman was

    uTorrent_2.jpg
    uTorrent_3.jpg
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.