Comodo Firewall issue - Possible alternatives

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by majax01, Jun 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. majax01

    majax01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    16
    This morning I turned on my desktop PC and received an error message from Comodo Firewall: "Application could not start because of an error connecting to database."

    Has anyone ever experienced this problem? I didn't download anything from the last time my PC started up fine. I'm worried because I don't have any firewall running at the moment. Should I download an alternative firewall?

    I'm running Windows XP SP3 (too poor to get Windows 7) and have only Comodo Firewall installed as security software.
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. majax01

    majax01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Posts:
    16
    Fixed the problem. After uninstalling Comodo I didn't delete the folders in application data. Once I did that the install was just fine.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2011
  4. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    I would be somewhat concerned if a firewall failed to start because of a failure to connect to a remote IP/Site. Issues such as the remote IP/site being down, possible routing problems (etc) could prevent the firewall from starting.

    Your first post did not mention a problem installing, just that the firewall "did not start" and "last time my PC started up fine"


    Strange post.


    - Stem
     
  5. Nekromantik

    Nekromantik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Posts:
    107
    I agree I would be concerned too if a firewall fails to start if it cant connect too a remote site. I installed Comodo last night so lets hope thats not the case.
     
  6. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    You shouldn't have to delete the folders in appdata when reinstalling either.

    I have never seen such an error in Comodo. I only find two hits for the error string with Google and they're both your posts, even though one response to you post on the Comodo forums says that "You are not the only one this has happened to recently."
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.