Comodo Firewall 2.4 problem after upgrade

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by PhoenixWeb, Jan 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PhoenixWeb

    PhoenixWeb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I updated the firewall when the pop up notified me of the new update. After it installed the update and restarted, the application monitor, component monitor, network monitor, and application behaviour analysis were all switched off, and I couldn't switch them back on... I click on them, but they won't let me select on.

    After a few minutes pop up windows came up saying that the various modules were switched off, and I should try uninstalling the firewall, and reinstall it.

    I have uninstalled the firewall and downloaded and reinstalled it, but I still have the same problem. I cannot turn each module on. I click on it, but it won't let me select on. I have tried restarting my PC but that didn't help.

    Has anyone else had this problem, or got any ideas?

    P.S. I switched ProSecurity to 'enable install mode' before installing, so I don't think it is anything do do with this, or is it?
     
  2. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Didn't upgrade through the updater, because it never worked.
    Instead I downloaded the file through their website and oh boy, did that take long to download that file. :eek:

    Installed the new version and on reboot got the same problem you're having, so I uninstalled again, rebooted and removed the Comodo folder.
    Afterwards I terminated all programs and background tasks not essential to Windows and installed again.

    After reboot all was well again :cool:, so I guess something corrupted the installation to succeed fully.

    Hope it will work for you too PhoenixWeb. ;)
     
  3. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Comodo can be downloaded a lot faster from Filehippo.
     
  4. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Thanks for the tip, didn't think about that, so I took the long road. :blink:
     
  5. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    I had the same problem after update.I downloaded the new firewall from comodo site. I uninstalled updated version and rebooted. Then installed the new version and rebooted.......it worked. Download the new version from somewhere and start all over again. I hope you get it to work.
     
  6. PhoenixWeb

    PhoenixWeb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Thanks Eldar! I did what you suggested, and also used CCleaner to clean the registry. I then did a fresh install, and now all is working again!

    Thanks for the advice!
     
  7. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
  8. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    You're most welcome PhoenixWeb. ;)
    Glad my suggestion worked for you and it may help others too.
    Have fun with the new Comodo version. :cool:
     
  9. EASTER.2010

    EASTER.2010 Guest

    Same here but i finally persevered and with some "ALL DAY" persistence finally got the new release.

    Only issue that i noticed (brand new install) was after the reboot a box prompt came up saying something about having to close, was kind of excited at the time so didn't really catch all of that. However whatever that was, Comodo seems to be doing a good job on my box.

    I'm one who rarely if ever changes firewall unless absolutely neccessary which i never experienced a single issue with Kerio in years, but all this Hype and Hoopla over Comodo got my attention and if it remains stable like it's doing right now, this will be only my 3rd firewall that i use. First was ZA, then Kerio, and now the much praised COMODO. LoL

    I have to say, i can see now why all the rave over this. I like it, a lot!!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.