Comodo DNS

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by gery, Sep 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    i have changed the dns settings in favor of Comodo but i want to revert this now . I need help to do so . Please
    GERY
     
  2. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    Just reverse what you did. Check out this link and check Obtain Server Address Automatically or put in a different DNS.

    https://store.opendns.com/setup/operatingsystem/windows-7
     
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    gery try opendns or norton dns:thumb:
     
  4. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    :thumb: Norton DNS
     
  5. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Here are instructions for changing DNS settings in Vista (for your desktop)...

    change dns settings in vista.jpg
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    good explanation;) :thumb:
     
  7. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Windows key + R
    Run: dnsmgmt.msc
     
  8. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    change dns II.jpg
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    same result here:D
     
  10. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    The fastest DNS servers really is a very subjective thing. Individual results varying is pretty much inevitable, and sometimes greatly, depending on where you are and other factors.

    I hear a lot of people rave about OpenDNS for speed, but it was noticeably slower for me compared to Comodo. So far Comodo Secure DNS is the quickest I've tried. Even faster than my ISP ones.

    I've yet to try Norton though. It's about the only one I haven't tried, other than Google, which I just wouldn't use.
     
  11. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    So far the word 'fastest' hasn't been mentioned in this thread... until you brought it up. :D
     
  12. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    So are you all fixed up now?
     
  13. Aventador

    Aventador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    420
  14. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    DNS Jumper looks like a good utility.
    I have been using and recommending Public DNS Server Tool 0.91.
    There probably is no "best and fastest" tool... just personal preferences. ;)
     
  15. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    nope .. iam trying and still says comodo dns
     
  16. Aventador

    Aventador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    420
    Did you flush your DNS? Did you clean your temp files and cookies? Use this CMD to flush your DNS. You can also use DNS Jumper to reset to defaults and flush your dns.



    ipconfig /flushdns
     
  17. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Well im using a 3g dongle mobile broadband connection and for some peculiar reason i cannot use any other DNS service except what the dongle provider uses.
    Ive tried everything..manually changing them in connection settings and to no avail.im totally stumped on this.:doubt: :ninja:
     
  18. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    We went through this 3 months ago with you, B.
    Would have been helpful had you noted that.
    What does your ISP say when you call them and ask for help?
    From the old thread...
    Use a program like CCleaner to flush your DNS cache each time you reboot and see if that does the trick.
     
  19. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    Also make sure that you restart any device that is connected, especially the modem and/or router before you start up your computer.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.