Comodo compatible with prevx?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Drew99GT, Sep 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Drew99GT

    Drew99GT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    338
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Topic says it all. Is it? Thanks

    ps, I tried searching to no avail.
     
  2. kr4ey

    kr4ey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Florida USA
    Prevx1 is not a firewall or AV, its a Host Intrusion Prevension System (HIPS)
    so I don't see why it will not work.
    I have been using Prevx1 for about a year, but not with Comodo, but have never had any compatiblity problems with any other programs. Only way to find out is try it. I have Prevx1 as my only realtime protection so that's how much I trust it. I just do a scan with a command line scanner every once and while.

    Rick
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    I dont see why it wouldnt be.

    im gonna try prevx1 soon but atm i have 81 processes at startup because of f-secure so its not a fair test to see if it uses up resourses
     
  4. kr4ey

    kr4ey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Florida USA
    You will find that after you uninstall f-secure and install prevx and anti-vir your system will be much faster and use less resourses.
    I had kaspersky AV for a long time and couldn't believe how much it slowed my system and internet speed till I uninstalled it and used another solution (prevx).
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thats what i was thinking. it will provide the atleast the same probaly more protection but less resourse. i was thinking about prevx for a while and yesterday I noticed it was only £13 and before that thought it wouild be at least £30 for a product that good. so prevx uses 2 process how many processes does antivir use?
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Have used both with no problems.
     
  7. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    There may be no apparent conflicts, but on checking (when I had this combo installed) I did see conflicts with system hooking (SSDT), so some problems may exist at low level detection/interception
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.