Comodo compatible with prevx?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Drew99GT, Sep 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Drew99GT

    Drew99GT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    340
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Topic says it all. Is it? Thanks

    ps, I tried searching to no avail.
     
  2. kr4ey

    kr4ey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Florida USA
    Prevx1 is not a firewall or AV, its a Host Intrusion Prevension System (HIPS)
    so I don't see why it will not work.
    I have been using Prevx1 for about a year, but not with Comodo, but have never had any compatiblity problems with any other programs. Only way to find out is try it. I have Prevx1 as my only realtime protection so that's how much I trust it. I just do a scan with a command line scanner every once and while.

    Rick
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,041
    I dont see why it wouldnt be.

    im gonna try prevx1 soon but atm i have 81 processes at startup because of f-secure so its not a fair test to see if it uses up resourses
     
  4. kr4ey

    kr4ey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Florida USA
    You will find that after you uninstall f-secure and install prevx and anti-vir your system will be much faster and use less resourses.
    I had kaspersky AV for a long time and couldn't believe how much it slowed my system and internet speed till I uninstalled it and used another solution (prevx).
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,041
    thats what i was thinking. it will provide the atleast the same probaly more protection but less resourse. i was thinking about prevx for a while and yesterday I noticed it was only £13 and before that thought it wouild be at least £30 for a product that good. so prevx uses 2 process how many processes does antivir use?
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,125
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Have used both with no problems.
     
  7. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    There may be no apparent conflicts, but on checking (when I had this combo installed) I did see conflicts with system hooking (SSDT), so some problems may exist at low level detection/interception
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.