Comodo Cloud Antivirus Beta Releases

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by wasgij6, Nov 4, 2015.

  1. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    674
    Location:
    sweden
    What have you detected?

    I am eagerly waiting for the first test on this, Cruelsister maybe? Anyway - looks promising.
     
  2. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,484
    Gallery: COMODO Cloud Antivirus
    http://www.neowin.net/news/comodo-cloud-antivirus-10379757116
    ------------
    https://forums.comodo.com/news-anno...ivirus-10379757116-is-released-t114498.0.html

    What's new in 1.0.379757.116 ?

    - New Installer Pages :
    With the new installer pages, learn more about what CCAV features are. With the new design of installers, you will get more about us.

    - New action: "add to exclusions" when malware is detected in manual scan:
    We have added a new action ! Add the threats found during manual scan easily into your exclusions list!

    - Purge on trusted app list:
    Purge button is back, even on trusted vendor list!

    Submit non-sandboxed installers for Valkyrie analysis:
    You need us to analyse non-sandboxed installers ? Submit them easily.

    - Multi Language Support:
    New languages added into language support, new languages to be added with the next releases.

    Improvements and Fixes:

    We have addressed many wishes and bugs/issues reported by our users in this release. Here are a selected few:

    - Option to hide "Upgrade" button on main GUI.
    - When dobule click desktop shortcut ,ccav main UI can't pop from taskbar.
    - Virtual file should display virtual full path in sandbox applications page.
    - When you restore default config ,changing some config have issue
     
  3. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,588
    oh dear.
    I left being a Comodo user years ago and it seams like the right decision, because things either didn't change or got worst.
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Windows Security detection wasn't such a problem except Windows Defender doesn't get disabled which meas they BOTH run, making everything a lot slower than it should. And in the end you have to disable Windows Defender by hand and that's just so damn annoying. Why can't Comodo do anything properly even bloody once.
     
  5. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    To: Naren nowadays known as @yesnoo

    Thanks as always for your 'expert' analysis :)
    Glad to hear you are not so unhappy with it.
    I'll continue to monitor over the next few weeks for discussion and discontent on their forums
    Then i make the decision if i allow it to run on any of my machines!
     
  6. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    968
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    I wonder why it does not register in action-center?
    Is CCAV intended to be a full AV, or a second opinion addon?

    I tried to install CCAV on a notebook, with WIN7-64, but the installer crashed and left trash behind...
    On a fresh install of WIN7-64 CCAV installed fine.

    Initial full scan seems to take forever, with very low cpu time (8% max)
     
  7. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,354
    ... because they are Comodo. :D
     
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Apparently CCAV is NOT detecting malware that (regular) CIS is detecting. Which is not cool. At all! Can't yet recommend CCAV based on what I've seen...
     
  9. phalanaxus

    phalanaxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Posts:
    509
    IMHO Comodo comes up with really nice concepts but somehow they manage to majestically bork any piece of software they make. That's why their products protect well, IF and WHEN they work correctly. CCAV is no exception to this as of yet.
     
  10. garrett76

    garrett76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    221
    And where is the famous Valkyrie automatic submission and detection? No sign of it so far.
    It looks to me like another CIS but with worse detection.
     
  11. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Threw it on my W10 x64 machine under TimeFreeze, and just like with the beta, my Chrome's flash would not work........... Glad to see Comodo had such a successful beta trial.
     
  12. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,155
    I haven't installed it on my production system yet coz of WD not disabled & not registered in Security Center.

    But I tried it under Shadow Defender & woked fine i.e all my programs & portable programs ran fine with no alerts. 1-2 programs generated alerts & ran fine on selecting dont isolate again. Tried couple harmless samples & were detected fine. Tried quarantine/restore, etc... & worked fine.
    So basic test for basic working of CCAV seems fine.
    Once I install on production machine & try it for few days then will come to know if any critical bugs or not.
    But overall for me it left a good impression for 1st stable version.

    Hope in the coming days its more polished with couple new features.
    And hope will work fine on your system too.
     
  13. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,155
    Did you executed the samples?

    Coz I think CCAV detects on execution.
    My test with harmless samples were detected on execution. Later the same samples were detected on download from browser too...guess CCAV stores cache of cloud detection for offline use...guess thats the option on the GUI "keep cloud detection cache for number of days".
     
  14. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Not anymore. Beta versions only worked on-execution, final version works on-access. I'm not going to execute Virut on my live system. Not a chance.
     
  15. Secondmineboy

    Secondmineboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Posts:
    102
    Location:
    Germany
    Really? How about some money?

    No im kidding. But there seems to be nothing from Valkyrie yet.......
     
  16. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    Comodo has been hyping Valkyrie for a long time along with CAMAS I get the feeling it's never going to be fully integrated into any comodo product
     
  17. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Well, supposedly it's already functional since december. But only for CCAV. What only confuses me is when they said Valkyrie has a response time of few seconds up to half a minute. When does CCAV wait for half a minute to receive a response from the server with results? That doesn't make sense. This could only work of app was sandboxed like in CIS and verdict is received later and then it would get auto unsandboxed. But that's just not the case with CCAV because the whole sandboxing is a lot more primitive with it than with CIS.
     
  18. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,412
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I've checked it out, I like the clean GUI, and it's refreshing to see that it's only a 5MB download. But it's no serious competition for Sandboxie, and what's up with the zillions of "Trusted Vendors"? That's asking for trouble, and you can't even turn it off. Nevertheless, it's an interesting tool, this is the way to go for Comodo.
     
  19. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,266
    Location:
    Germany
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 8, 2016
  20. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,287
    Location:
    USA,IA
    Anyone using this ? Just curious on your thoughts
     
  21. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,354
    Still a lot of false positives, I don't like it.
     
  22. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    Valkyrie is still not implemented.
     
  23. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Comodo staff is saying otherwise... So, who's right then? From what I understand, Valkyrie only works as an automated process with CCAV at the moment. You cannot send a file for analysis on your own to it yet.
     
  24. garrett76

    garrett76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    221
    After asking on their forum many times, they answered that when an unknown file is executed the hash will be send to Valkyrie. If Valkyrie doesn't know the file yet, the whole file is uploaded for analysis. The next time you run the file you should get the response. At least that's what they say...
     
  25. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,155
    There is a prob & Devs have mentioned they will check whats the prob.

    Me & 1 more users reported the prob. CCAV is using lots of bandwidth, dont know why the huge bandwidth usage, uploads or dont know what.

    My experience - I installed CCAV & tested the usability with quite a few programs installation. All the installers were latest & already downloaded, during test nothing update/upgraded, no Windows Updates, etc... nothing. But after test app 1.29 GB of my bandwidth was used.

    The other user too experienced the same.

    More info here -
    https://forums.comodo.com/wishlist-...modo-dnsserver-bandwidth-eater-t114601.0.html
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2016
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.