Comments, questions, suggestions

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus v4 Beta Forum' started by Marcos, Nov 18, 2008.

  1. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you have any comments, questions or suggestions concerning the new EAV 4 beta, please post them to this thread. If you want to report an issue, create a separate thread where we can discuss it further and email issue details to betasupport[at]eset.sk as well.
     
  2. Mister Natural

    Mister Natural Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    3rd density St. Louis
    Comment and question

    I'm having the same problem mentioned in the ESS beta4 forum. Unable to update. During install I removed the default info and entered the username/password assigned to my account. Perhaps I should have left the default entry?

    I like the block removable media option. I think admins will like this option.
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Re: Comment and question

    Yes, leave the default username/password. The beta updates from a different location than the release version so it doesn't recognize your credentials.
     
  4. Mister Natural

    Mister Natural Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    3rd density St. Louis
    Re: Comment and question

    Yes that worked, thanks.
     
  5. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,739
    Location:
    New York City
    Comment and Question

    First of all, very nice. I created a SysInspector file easily.

    Under real time file protection, what's the difference between advanced heuristics under setup and advanced heuristics on file execution under advanced setup?

    Thanks.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Re: Comment and Question

    The former is for file access.
     
  7. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,739
    Location:
    New York City
    Re: Comment and Question

    Thank you. I'm running a scan and noticed the animated icon. Cute.
     
  8. gisuck

    gisuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Posts:
    56
    I'm very impressed with the new interface and the new security enhancements with the beta.

    Just wondering if there is some type of debug mode enabled in this build that may explain minor slowdowns in performance? My Outlook 2007 took a significant amount of time to load that normal.

    Overall, I cannot wait for general release.
     
  9. Hopie

    Hopie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    works this version with outpost firewall?

    V2 + outpost works fine, V3 + outpost.. no comment :( (proxy)
     
  10. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,739
    Location:
    New York City
    I noticed the log file is very short for the on-demand (in-depth scan). I have the verbosity set to 'Informative records'. The log is shorter than version 3.
    No files are listed as '[4] files', objects that cannot be opened. Don't know if this is
    correct.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2008
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I assume that you don't have errors enabled in the log filter.
     
  12. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,739
    Location:
    New York City
    Saving the filter under Tools->Log files doesn't seem to work.
     
  13. pondlife152

    pondlife152 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    UK
    Comment

    Everything seems stable. Running along side Comoodo Internet Security (Firewall & Defense+) V3.5.55810.432 and they seem to be getting along okay.

    NOD32 V4 could even be a little quicker than V3. Not sure, it may be my imagination! :doubt:
     
  14. cocolucho

    cocolucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Posts:
    80
    It works very well without problems, thanks
     
  15. Dave16

    Dave16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    45
    Hi. I'm not sure if there is a new GUI or not, but if there is, would someone be willing to post/ or PM me some screen shots please? Really interested in it, though I have no virtual environment software to beta test in, so I cant see it for myself. Thanks all, -Dave.
     
  16. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,739
    Location:
    New York City
    Some screen shots of the suite are available in this thread:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=225594
     
  17. geircito

    geircito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Posts:
    27
    Running nicely here on Windows 7 Pre-beta build 6801.
    No issues, just running...:)
     
  18. pondlife152

    pondlife152 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    UK
    Re: suggestions

    I'd like to see the ability to stop or pause a scheduled scan, just like I can do with a manual scan.
     
  19. gisuck

    gisuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Posts:
    56
    I'm loving it...

    I just have 1 feature request, if it could be included. Right now, I have a scheduled task to scan my computer weekly.

    When the scheduled task runs, you can see it running in the "Computer Scan" section, but there is no pause, stop, or call out feature so you can at least monitor its progression. Just displays a percentage completed. Anyway we can enhance this section a little?
     
  20. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,739
    Location:
    New York City
    Any plans on using sound signal?
     
  21. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Doesn't it work for you if a threat is detected by the on-demand scanner?
     
  22. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,739
    Location:
    New York City
    I haven't come across any. I was referring to the web access protection.
     
  23. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,739
    Location:
    New York City
    I can also confirm sound doesn't work for on-demand scanner after copying Eicar virus to desktop.
     
  24. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It's supposed to work with on-demand scans only and it worked here like a charm. Didn't you disable certain system sounds by chance?
     
  25. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,739
    Location:
    New York City
    It's possible. Do you know which system sound it uses?
    Thanks.