Command Prompt Explorer Bar

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by iceni60, Nov 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 28, 2004
  2. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Try the alternative ICE. ;) Method #4 here. :D :cool:
    Works like a charm! :-*

    GF :ninja:
     
  3. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Or why not get Xteq (aka XQDC) X-Setup (Pro - is free too)
    It'll do that and more tweaking (than is legally allowed during this time of the year)
     
  4. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    thanks, GF and no13. they put the prompt in the right-click option, i think. i have got that already. but, doesnt the link i gave do abit more? im not too sure, i havent tried it yet. i just always get the cmds wrong with dos o_O . maybe i'll spend a day just playing around with dos, i think i need to. :D or i might join a newbie forum :D
     
  5. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Or u could buy Murphy's Laws of DOS, by Charlie Russel, Sybex Computer Books
    FUNNY FUNNY BOOK
     
  6. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    thanks, but i was thinking more an idiot's guide to dos :eek: . but, i might have a look anyway :)
     
  7. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    It's pretty easy to use (only a dummy's guide to crash testing would be easier) and it gives a lotta *advanced* crap too.
    Try DOS on Win9x/Me machines (not Win NT/2k/Xp) for most predictable and best results
     
  8. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i have two computers i can learn using dos with - a 3x version of windows and XP, which would be best? Also, i probably will get Murphy's Laws of DOS. thanks :)
     
  9. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    hmm...
    DOS v 6 should be there on Win3X I guess ('coz book was written for it)
    I dunno if its downloadable.
     
  10. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    the 3x is at mt father's, i'll have alook at it when i next see him. id like to use an older computer as i'll be more likely to use dos with it. do you know how to check which version is installed? does it say on boot-up?
     
  11. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    I don't remember!
    If its NOT a windows 95 or greater system (like in your father's PC), ver command gives ODS version, else the windows version (Win v4.0 was 95, v4.9 was Win ME, 5.0 was 2000 i think, and 5.1 is XP)
     
  12. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    OK, i'll see what it says with i see it. i'll probably end up using both computers anyway. thanks for the help :cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.